Skip to Content

The Digital Evolution of an American Identity

By C. Waite

Routledge – 2012 – 130 pages

Series: Routledge Studies in Science, Technology and Society

Purchasing Options:

  • Add to CartHardback: $130.00
    978-0-415-89761-7
    December 11th 2012

Description

The Digital Evolution of an American Identity details how the concept of American individualism is challenged by the digital revolution. As digital media alter our print-dominant culture, assumptions regarding the relationship of the individual to the larger community become increasingly problematic. Current arguments regarding freedom of speech and confusion about what is meant by privacy illustrate the nature of the challenge.

C. Waite defines individualism as the ways in which the American culture traditionally strives to balance the rights of the individual against the needs of the group. Americans struggle to understand what it means to be responsible both for one’s self and for the welfare of others. They struggle with this not as an academic might, but in concrete and specific cases, often caught at cross-purposes with conflicting goods. This is a historic struggle, intrinsic to the very fabric of America's democratic society, as illustrated by its laws and customs.

The American democracy has supported a view of the person as an autonomous individual. Yet that concept of American individualism no longer adequately captures the role of the self in the social world. The digital environment challenges that autonomy by creating new avenues for speech and new forms of social networks. Though the transition from a print-based culture to the digital domain entails a global revolution, American culture will suffer the consequences of that revolution more profoundly than other cultures because the concept of American individualism is foundational to its democratic way of life.

Reviews

"This intelligent book gives us the sophisticated account of today's digital revolution that needed to be written. Gracious in tone and elegant in literary style, the author shows us how the cyberspace of everywhere and nowhere alters our experience of self and community. Digital Evolution of an American Identity will become a classic of social philosophy in the tradition of Robert Bellah's Habits of the Heart and Walter Ong's Orality and Literacy."

—Clifford Christians, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

"Waite explores the digital revolution’s challenges to American individualism. As the Enlightenment’s easy binaries of self vs. society, speech rights vs. privacy rights, and interior vs. exterior experience are assaulted by infomatics and social media, the digital domain envisions an emergent American collectivity that remakes the individual’s place in the world. Waite effectively uses the West’s transition from print to electronic culture to reconceive of individual autonomy in our time."

—Bruce Gronbeck, The University of Iowa

Contents

Section I. 1. The American Dilemma 2. The Promise and Peril 3. Challenges of a Digital Culture Section II. 4. Self versus Society: Inherent Tensions 5. The Evolution of the First Amendment 6. Inner and Outer Experience Section III. 7. New Forms of Conversations and Communities 8. The Challenge of Interdependence 9. Beyond the Dichotomy of Self and Society

Author Bio

C. Waite is professor and chair of the department of Communication at Hamilton College. Her work is interdisciplinary, drawing on the traditions of the social sciences and humanities. Her research focuses on the ways in which the human and technological interface alters the social domain. An earlier book, Mediation and the Communication Matrix was published in 2003 by Peter Lang.

Name: The Digital Evolution of an American Identity (Hardback)Routledge 
Description: By C. Waite. The Digital Evolution of an American Identity details how the concept of American individualism is challenged by the digital revolution. As digital media alter our print-dominant culture, assumptions regarding the relationship of the individual to the...
Categories: Political Philosophy, Social Theory, Sociology of Culture, U.S. Politics, Legal Theory, Cultural Theory, Media & Film Studies