1st Edition

Alun Hoddinott
A Source Book

ISBN 9780815387565
Published November 28, 2017 by Routledge
247 Pages

USD $160.00

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

Alun Hoddinott is the most important living Welsh composer and one of the most distinguished and prolific composers of his generation internationally. His works have been performed in major centres as far afield as Tokyo and Berlin, Melbourne and Leipzig, New York and Venice as well as the major festivals in Wales and England. He is one of the very few composers to have been commissioned to compose a concerto for Mstislav Rostropovitch.Born in Bargoed, Glamorganshire, in August 1929, Alun Hoddinott started to play the violin and compose at an early age. Some of his works were performed and broadcast whilst he was a student at University College, Cardiff and he later studied with the Australian composer and pianist Arthur Benjamin. His first major success was his Clarinet Concerto No.1, given by Gervaise de Peyer and the Halle Orchestra under John Barbirolli at the 1954 Cheltenham Music Festival.This Source Book lists all Hoddinott's compositions from 1946 to 2005, almost 60 years of phenomenal output, and shows he has achieved a mastery of composition which embraces almost every musical medium. With information given on first performances, manuscript locations and recordings, in addition to details of composition dates, authors/librettists, durations, commissions and dedications amongst much else, this book is a key reference for all those interested in Alun Hoddinott and his music.

Table of Contents

Contents: Foreword, Jeremy Huw Williams: Index of titles; Chronology; Catalogue of works; General bibliography; Classified index of works; General index.

View More