An Introduction to Critical International Relations Theory  book cover
SAVE
$29.00
1st Edition

An Introduction to Critical International Relations Theory



  • Available for pre-order. Item will ship after January 1, 2021
ISBN 9780415523677
January 1, 2021 Forthcoming by Routledge
240 Pages

 
SAVE ~ $29.00
was $145.00
USD $116.00

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Preview

Book Description

This book offers a conceptual history and reconstruction of the concept of emancipation as it has developed within the tradition of Critical Theory and Critical International Relations Theory.

It meticulously details the emancipatory content of a number of related theorists in the critical tradition, providing both an exegesis of their individual thought and the school as a whole from which its project of emancipation has been constructed. The volume moves chronologically in its study, beginning with chapters on Kant, Hegel, Marx and the Frankfurt School in Part I and on into Critical International Relations Theory and such writers as Linklater, Cox, Booth, Wyn-Jones and Held in part II. As the volume reconstructs the project of emancipation within Critical Theory, it identifies as its key limitation the under-developed nature of its cosmopolitan imagination and its lack of reflection on the importance of relations of intersubjectivity in world politics.

This book will be of interest to students and scholars of International Relations, International Critical Theory and Political Philosophy.

Table of Contents

1. Introduction: Critical Theorising and the Project of Emancipation  Part I - The Origins of Emancipation in Critical Theory  2. Problems in Kant’s Cosmopolitan Vision of Emancipation through the Moral Law  3. Hegel and the Dialectic of Emancipatory Cosmopolitan through Mutual Recognition  4. Marx’s Vision of Human Emancipation through Species-Being and Communism  5. Salvaging the Project of Emancipation in the early Frankfurt School  6. Habermas and Honneth: The Renewal of the Emancipatory Project  Part II - Emancipation in Critical International Relations Theory  7. Emancipating the World: The ‘Critical-Turn‘ in IR Theory and its challenge to the disciplinary mainstream  8. Visions of Emancipation: Cox and Linklater  9. Security as Emancipation Booth and Wyn-Jones  10. New Cosmopolitanism as Emancipation: Held, Beck and Archibugi  11. The Achievements and Limitations of Critical International Relations Theory  12. Conclusion: The Future Tasks of Critical International Relations Theory

...
View More

Author(s)

Biography

Shannon Brincat is a Researcher at the Center of Excellence in Global Governance Research at the University of Helsinki, Finland, and a Research Assistant at the University of Queensland Australia.