1st Edition

An Introduction to Modern Political Thought Machiavelli to Foucault

Edited By Suratha Kumar Malik Copyright 2024
    250 Pages
    by Routledge India

    250 Pages
    by Routledge India

    This book is an excellent critical introduction to modern political thought. From the first modern thinker Niccolo Machiavelli to the contemporary political philosopher Michel Foucault, it studies the ideas and contributions of sixteen major political thinkers in the history of modern political thought. The volume presents reflections on political ethics, social community, political order, and human nature. It explores how the thinkers have contributed to the broader conversation about human nature, power, justice, democracy, and the ever-changing relationship between the citizen and the state, and analyses how far their ideas remain relevant in contemporary times.

    An important contribution to the study of political thought, this comprehensive volume will be an essential read for students and scholars of political science, political theory, political philosophy, philosophy, and history.

    About the Contributors

    Foreword by Bhikhu Parekh

    Preface and Acknowledgements


    Sanjukta Banerjee Bhattacharya

     1.      Niccolo Machiavelli

    Satrajit Banerjee


    2.      Thomas Hobbes

    Anuradha Rai and Sanjay Srivastava


    3.      John Locke

    Gyana Ranjan Swain


    4.      Jean Jacques Rousseau

                   Siddhartha Sankar Manna & Ayan Das


    5.      Immanuel Kant

       Hans J. Freddy & Khakchang Debbarma


    6.      Mary Wollstonecraft

       Chandrika Basu Majumder


    7.      Georg Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

      Sib Ranjan Chatterjee


    8.      John Stuart Mill

       Gouri Shankar Nag

    9.     Karl Marx

      Shyama Sundar Acharya


    10.  Vladimir Ilich Lenin 

    Swatilekha Bhattacharya & Priyanka Pandit


    11.  Antonio Gramsci

                 Arun Kumar Patnaik

    12.   Mao Zedong

     Dinesh Kumar Ahirwar


    13.  Hannah Arendt

    Sipra Sagarika


    14.  John Rawls

    V. Bijukumar

    15.  Frantz Fanon

    Santi Sarkar & Suratha Kumar Malik

         16. Michel Foucault

              Sibaji Pratim Basu


    Suratha Kumar Malik, Ph.D., is Associate Professor in the Department of Political Science, Assam University, Silchar, Assam, India. He was the former Assistant Professor and Teacher-in-Charge in the Department of Political Science, Vidyasagar University, West Bengal. He has studied at the Centre for Political Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi, India. He has published numerous books (sole authored and co-edited) and twenty-five research articles and chapters with national and international publishers. His publications include Land Alienation and Politics of Tribal Exploitation in India (2020), Ancient and Medieval Indian Thought: Themes and Traditions (2020), Revisiting Modern Indian Thought: Themes and Perspectives (2021), Dilemmas in World Politics: Exploring the Frontiers (2022), Reappraising Modern Indian Thought: Themes and Thinkers (2022).  He is awarded ‘State’s Best NSS Programme Officer Award’ for the year 2019-2020 by Higher Education Department, Government of West Bengal. He is conferred with the ‘Vivekananda Excellence Award’ in 2019 by Seva Youth Guild, Kolkata; affiliated to NYKS, Ministry of Sports and Youth Affairs Department, Government of India.