Analytical Methods of Electroacoustic Music  book cover
1st Edition

Analytical Methods of Electroacoustic Music

Edited By

Mary Simoni

ISBN 9780415976299
Published December 9, 2005 by Routledge
310 Pages

FREE Standard Shipping
USD $170.00

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

Containing extensive artwork serving as demonstration, as well as downloadable resources with sound and video clips, this collection of essays on electroacoustic music explores the creative possibilities to be found in various forms of musical analysis.

Taking pitch, duration, intensity, and timbre as the four basic elements of music, the authors discuss electroacoustic works and examine:

* the applications of neumes
* contemporary staff notation
* sound orchestra and score files
* time-domain representations
* spectrograms.

Taking into consideration both the positive aspects (preservation of the abstract) and negative aspects (creative limitation) of these analytical methods, the authors have created a useful resource for students of electroacoustic music.

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments  1. Introduction  2. Visualization of Musical Signals  3. The Intention/Reception Project  4. Paul Lansky's As If  5. Alvin Lucier's I am sitting in a room  6. Jonathan Harvey's Mortuos Plango, Vivos Voco  7. Philippe Manoury's Jupiter  8. Barry Truax's Riverrun  9. Philippe Manoury's Opera K  Annotated Bibliography  Glossary  Contributors  Index

View More



Mary Simoni is a Professor of Music Technology, Chair of the Department of Performing Arts Technology, and Associate Dean for Technology Initiatives at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor. The MIT Press, the International Computer Music Association, and Centaur Records have published her music and writings.