1st Edition

Authors of the Middle Ages. Volume I, Nos 1–4
English Writers of the Late Middle Ages

ISBN 9780860784661
Published September 29, 1994 by Routledge
256 Pages

USD $160.00

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

Authors of the Middle Ages is a new series designed for research and reference. Each part, by an expert on the subject, gives an account of the facts known about a particular Author’s life and immediate historical context, together with a review of subsequent scholarship. This is supported by citation of all known contemporary references; a dated and classified list of manuscripts and editions; a bibliography of secondary sources; and appendices listing or printing the key literary and documentary sources. The aim is to combine, in one compact work, a bibliography of a medieval author with all the information needed for further research. Each will be available individually, or in a collection with three other contemporary Authors. Authors of the Middle Ages is divided into two sub-series, English Writers of the Late Middle Ages and historical and Religious Writers of the Latin West.

Table of Contents

Contents: Volume I contains the first 4 titles of the Authors of the Middle Ages series, from the English Writers of the Late Middle Ages section: Sir John Mandeville, by M. C. Seymour; John Trevisa, by David C. Fowler; William Langland, by Ralph Hanna III; Thomas Hoccleve, by J. A. Burrow.

View More