1st Edition

Christopher Marlowe (Routledge Revivals)

By Una Mary Ellis Fermor Copyright 2012
    188 Pages
    by Routledge

    186 Pages
    by Routledge

    First published in 1927, this book aims to trace the development of Christopher Marlowe’s mind and art as these are revealed in the surviving parts of his work, while portraying the personality thus perceived. Professor Ellis-Fermor begins by looking at Marlowe’s life and early works, before making a more detailed study of Tamburlaine, Faustus, The Plays of Policy, and finaly Hero and Leander. She then goes on, in the appendix of this work, to consider contention and true tragedy before concluding with a study of Marlowe in the eyes of his contemporaries. The author has followed the text of the Oxford Edition of Marlowe’s works (1910), except in a few quotations, where she has preferred the reading of another early edition.

    Introduction  1. Life  2. Early Work: The Elegies of Ovid; The First Book of Lucan; Dido  3. Tamburlaine  4. Tamburlaine (cont’d)  5. Faustus  6. The Plays of Policy – i. The Jew of Malta  7. The Plays of Policy – ii. The Massacre at Paris  8. The Plays of Policy – iii. Edward II.  9. Hero and Leander  10. Conclusion  Appendix 1. The Contention and the True Tragedy  2. Marlowe in the Eyes of His Contemporaries


    Una Mary Ellis Fermor