1st Edition

Documents on the Nineteenth Century United Kingdom Constitution Volume III: Institutions

Edited By Andrew Blick Copyright 2023

    This volume covers the nature and operation of different organs of the constitution. It includes documents dealing with Parliament; the monarchy; the legal system; the Church; the Prime Minister and the Cabinet; the Civil Service; and local government. It presents accounts from insiders who were directly involved in working these institutions; and of the perceptions of outside observers. It identifies documents pertaining to key moments of change in the history of these entities, including alterations in the relations between them. It deals with matters including their legal basis, their internal structures, and the importance of precedent to the way in which they functioned in relation to one-another.

    Volume III: Institutions

    General Introduction

    Volume 3 Introduction

    Part 1. Monarchs and Administrations

    1. Samuel Romilly, ‘Change of Administration’

    2. Lord Erskine, ‘Change of Administration’

    3. Robert Peel, ‘The Address’

    4. Lord John Russell, ‘Address in Answer to the Speech’

    5. Walter Bagehot, ‘The English Constitution’

    6. Austin Holyoake, ‘Would a Republican Form of Government Be Suitable to England?’

    7. Lord Curzon, ‘Parliament Bill – Vote of Censure’

    Part 2. The Prime Minister

    8. Lord Melville to Mr. Addington

    9. Sir Robert Peel, Lord Rosebery

    10. Sidney Low, ‘The Governance of England’

    11. The Prime Minister’s Precedence, J.S. (‘Jack) Sandars to Lord Knollys

    12. Chequers Estate Act, 1917

    Part 3. Cabinet

    13. George Canning to Lord Malmesbury

    14. Lord Castlereagh, ‘Lord Ellenborough’s Seat in the Cabinet’

    15. Walter Bagehot, ‘The English Constitution’

    16. Minutes of a Meeting of the War Cabinet

    17. Draft Rules of Procedure for the War Cabinet


    Part 4. Administrations and Mandates

    18. Benjamin Disraeli, ‘Commercial Policy’

    19. Sir Robert Peel, ‘Resignation of the Ministry’

    20. William Gladstone, ‘Defeat of the Government on the Irish Church Resolutions’

    21. Marquess of Hartington, ‘Government of Ireland Bill’

    Part 5. Civil Service and Machinery of Government

    22. Report on the Organisation of the Permanent Civil Service

    23. Charles Dickens, Little Dorrit

    24. Anthony Trollope, An Autobiography

    25. Report of the Machinery of Government Committee (‘Haldane’ report), 1918

    26. Subcommittee Appointed to Consider the Position after the War of Women Holding Temporary Appointments in Government Departments

    Part 6. Parliament

    6. 1 General

    27. Edmund Burke, ‘Economical Reform’

    28. Sir Robert Peel, ‘Resignation of Ministers’

    29. Sir Robert Peel, ‘Confidence in the Ministry’

    30. Earl of Rosebery, ‘Motion for a Select Committee (House of Lords Reform)’

    31. A. V. Dicey, Law of the Constitution (the Sovereignty of Parliament)

    32. A. J. Balfour, ‘New Procedure Rules (for the House of Commons)’

    33. Earl of Clarendon, ‘House of Lords Reform’

    6.2 Commons-Lords Relations

    34. Earl Grey, ‘Ministerial Arrangements’

    35. Lord Chelmsford, ‘Paper Duty Repeal Bill’

    36. Lord Salisbury, ‘Irish Church Bill’

    37. Sir Henry Campbell-Bannerman, ‘Education (England and Wales) Bill’

    38. Herbert Henry Asquith, ‘Parliament Bill’

    39. Ramsey MacDonald, ‘Parliament Bill’

    40. Parliament Act, 1911

    Part 7. Local Government

    41. Municipal Corporations Act, 1835

    42. Lydia Becker, ‘The Rights and Duties of Women in Local Government’

    43. Local Government Act, 1888

    44. London Government Act, 1899

    Part 8. The Courts and the Legal System

    45. Judicial Committee Act, 1833

    46. County Courts Act, 1846

    47. Appellate Jurisdiction Act, 1876

    48. Supreme Court of Judicature Act, 1873



    Professor Andrew Blick is Head of the Department of Political Economy and Professor of Politics and Contemporary History at Kings College London, UK.