Fifty Major Political Thinkers: 1st Edition (Paperback) book cover

Fifty Major Political Thinkers

1st Edition

By Ian Adams, R.W. Dyson


272 pages

Purchasing Options:$ = USD
Paperback: 9780415228114
pub: 2003-06-19
SAVE ~$5.99
Currently out of stock
eBook (VitalSource) : 9780203413487
pub: 2004-03-01
from $14.98

FREE Standard Shipping!


Fifty Major Political Thinkers introduces the lives and ideas of some of the most influential figures in Western political thought, from ancient Greece to the present day. The entries provide a fascinating introduction to the major figures and schools of thought that have shaped contemporary politics, including:

  • Aristotle
  • Simone de Beauvoir
  • Michel Foucault
  • Mohandas Gandhi
  • Jurgen Habermas
  • Machiavelli
  • Karl Marx
  • Thomas Paine
  • Jean-Jacques Rousseau
  • Mary Wollstonecraft.

Fully cross-referenced and including a glossary of theoretical terms, this wide-ranging and accessible book is essential reading for anyone with an interest in the evolution and history of contemporary political thought.

Table of Contents

1. Plato 2. Aristotle 3. St Augustine of Hippo 4. John of Salisbury 5. St Thomas Aquinas 6. Marsilius of Padua 7. Machiavelli 8. Thomas More 9. Thomas Hobbes 10. James Harrington 11. John Locke 12. David Hume 13. Montesquieu 14. Jean-Jacques Rousseau 15. Immanuel Kant 16. Johann Gottfried Herder 17. Tom Paine 18. Edmund Burke 19. Mary Wollstonecraft 20. William Goodwin 21. G.F.W. Hegel 22. Jeremy Bentham 23. Fourier 24. Karl Marx 25. Alexis de Tocqueville 26. J.S. Mill 27. Herbert Spencer 28. T.H.Green 29. Friedrich Nietszche 30. Prince Peter Kropotkin 31. Georges Sorel 32. Eduard Bernstein 33. Vladimir Ilich Lenin 34. Max Weber 35. Marcus Garvey 36. Benito Mussolini 37. Hannah Arendt 38. Isaiah Berlin 39. Friedrich von Hayek 40. Mohandas Gandhi 41. Sir Karl Popper 42. Michael Oakeshott 43. Simone de Beauvoir 44. Herbert Marcuse 45. Michel Foucault 46. John Rawls 47. Arne Naess 48. Robert Nozick 49. Jurgen Habermas 50. Jean Francois Lyotard

About the Authors

Ian Adams is Honorary Fellow at the University of Durham

R.W. Dyson is a Lecturer in the School of Government and International Affairs at the University of Durham.

About the Series

Routledge Key Guides

Learn more…

Subject Categories

BISAC Subject Codes/Headings:
PHILOSOPHY / Political
POLITICAL SCIENCE / History & Theory