Gerhard on Music: Selected Writings, 1st Edition (Hardback) book cover

Gerhard on Music

Selected Writings, 1st Edition

By Roberto Gerhard, Meirion Bowen


276 pages

Purchasing Options:$ = USD
Hardback: 9781138710528
pub: 2019-04-15
SAVE ~$26.00
eBook (VitalSource) : 9781315200583
pub: 2019-06-04
from $20.00

FREE Standard Shipping!


This title was first published in 2000: Catalan-born composer Roberto Gerhard (1896-1970) left significant legacies - both musical and documentary. Exiled in Cambridge with the onset of the Spanish Civil War, he gradually achieved wide recognition by performers and conductors, in both Britain and America, as a composer whose music was essential to the modern repertoire. In this work, the author collects many of the composer's articles, reviews, lectures and broadcasts to demonstrate the full extent and continuity of Gerhard's artistic and creative thinking. The writings have been arranged thematically to emphasize the evolution of Gerhard's musical interests. His attachment to Spanish and Catalonian traditions broadened into a fascination with folk music of all kinds. His studies with Schoenberg in the mid 1920s gave him the key to his own creative individuality; thereafter, his imaginative vitality led him eventually to experiment with electronic and concrete music and he continued breaking new ground, even in his final years.

Table of Contents

Part I: Composer and Public. 1. Listening to Music (1930). 2. The Composer and his audience (1960). 3. Second and Symbol (1957). 4. The Contemporary Musical Situation (1956). Part II: Tradition and Innovation. Music at the court of Alfonso V the Magnanimous (1936). 6. A Note on Felipe Pedrell (c. 1940). 7. New Musical Methods (1930). 8. Music and Poetry (1935). Part III: Contemporary Composers (1929-1939). 9. Hanns Eisler (1898-1982). 10. Bartok. 11. Ildebrando Pizzetti. 12. Baltasa Samper. 13. Some Composers from Madrid. Part IV: Music and Drama. 14. Opera (1930). 15. Music and Film (1930). 16. The Duenna (1949). 17. Music and Ballet. Part V: New Horizons. 18. Schoenberg, Twelve-note Music and Serialism. 19. On Composition with Twelve Notes (1954). 20. Tonality in Twelve-tone Music (1952). 21. Developments in Twelve-tone Technique (1956). 22. Alban Ber: Obituary (1936). 23. Webern. 24. Twelve-note Technique in Stravinsky (1957). 25. Functions of the Series in Twelve-note Composition (1960). Part VI: Music in a Post-War Context. 26. England, Spring 1945. 27. Concrete Music and Electronic Sound Composition (1959). 28. Sound Observed (1965). 29. The Plague (1964). 30. Introduction to Symphony No. 2 (1959). 31. "Is Modern Music Growing Old?" (1960). 32. Art and Anarchy (1961). 33. The Muse and Music Today (1962). 34. An Inaugrual Lecture (1961).

About the Authors

Meirion Bowen

Roberto Gerhard

About the Series

Routledge Revivals

Are there elusive titles that you need and have been trying to source for years but thought that you would never be able to find?

Well this may be the end of your quest – here is a fantastic opportunity for you to discover past brilliance and purchase previously out of print and unavailable titles by some of the world’s most eminent academic scholars.

Drawing from over 100 years of innovative, cutting-edge publishing, Routledge Revivals is an exciting programme whereby key titles from the distinguished and extensive backlist of the many acclaimed imprints associated with Routledge will be re-issued.

The programme draws upon the illustrious backlists of Kegan Paul, Trench & Trubner, Routledge & Kegan Paul, Methuen, Allen & Unwin and Routledge itself.

Routledge Revivals spans the whole of the Humanities and Social Sciences, and includes works by some of the world’s greatest thinkers including Emile Durkheim, Max Weber, Simone Weil, Martin Buber, Karl Jaspers and Max Beloff.

If you are interested in Revivals in the Behavioral Sciences, please visit

Learn more…

Subject Categories

BISAC Subject Codes/Headings:
SOCIAL SCIENCE / Sociology / General