High-Tc Superconductivity : The Excitonic Coulomb Perspective book cover
1st Edition

High-Tc Superconductivity
The Excitonic Coulomb Perspective

  • Available for pre-order. Item will ship after July 31, 2020
ISBN 9789814800570
July 31, 2020 Forthcoming by Jenny Stanford Publishing
400 Pages

SAVE ~ $29.99
was $149.95
USD $119.96

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

The exciton mechanism of high critical temperature superconductivity in copper oxides was initially proposed by Prof. J. Bardeen. His insight is largely shared by another luminary in superconductivity, Prof. V. L. Ginzburg. The Chief Editor of the book, was motivated by their insights to give a geometrical explanation to the excitonic Coulomb interaction and has developed a unique formalism to understand and predict physical properties of high Tc superconductors. This work is supported by increasingly strong evidences for electron-hole interactions in p-type cuprates. The presence of electrons in hole-doped cuprates are revealed by the works of the Editors and many others, including the late Prof. L. P. Gor’kov. The book also tries to understand the interlayer Coulomb (ILC) pairing model by the excitonic Coulomb interaction.

Table of Contents

Excitonic Coulomb Pairing in a Variational Approach.  Transport and Evidences for Electrons in P -type Cuprates. Interlayer Coulomb Instability, the Many-Body Approach.  Where are Electrons Located in P -type Cuprates? Where are Electrons Located in P -type Cuprates?  Superconducting Properties.  Reflections on John Bardeen’s interest in the role of excitons in superconductivity.

View More



Dr. Nie Luo (Ph.D Northwestern University, 2001) collaborated with the E. Teller Medalist G. H. Miley for postdoc and later faculty research at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign for over 10 years.

George H. Miley (born 1933) is a professor emeritus of physics and engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign. Miley is a Guggenheim Fellow and Fellow of the American Nuclear Society, the American Physical Society and the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers.