Hindu Nationalism in India: Ideology and Politics, 1st Edition (Hardback) book cover

Hindu Nationalism in India

Ideology and Politics, 1st Edition

By Bidyut Chakrabarty, Bhuwan Kumar Jha


328 pages

Purchasing Options:$ = USD
Hardback: 9780367253325
pub: 2019-12-12
Available for pre-order. Item will ship after 12th December 2019

FREE Standard Shipping!


This book offers an in-depth study of right-wing politics in India by analysing the shifting ideologies of Hindu nationalism and its evolution in the late nineteenth century through to the twenty-first century.

The authors provide a thorough overview of the chronological evolution of Hindu nationalist organizational outfits to reveal how Hindu nationalist ideology has adapted in ways that have not always corresponded with the orthodox Hindu nationalist position. An examination of the overriding preference for Hindu nationalism demonstrates how it has flourished and continues to remain relevant in contemporary India despite being marginalized at the dawn of India’s independence. The book demonstrates that Hindu nationalism is a context-driven ideological device which is sensitive to the ideas and priorities that gradually gain salience. It also explores Hindu nationalism as a vote-catching device, especially from the late twentieth century onwards.

Providing a nuanced analysis of Hindu nationalism in India as a constantly evolving phenomenon, this book will be of interest to researchers on Asian political theory, nationalism, religious politics and South Asian and Indian politics.

Table of Contents

Introduction; Part 1 Ideological Foundations: nationalism in its theoretical springs; 1 Redesigning the Indian nation: politico-ideological priorities of Dayananda, Vivekananda and Aurobindo; 2 VD Savarkar (1883-1966): an activist ideologue; 3 MS Golwalkar (1906-1973): an insightful organizer; 4 Deendayal Upadhyay (1916-1968): a demiurgic thinker; Part 2 Ideological Initiatives and Organizational Forms; 5 Physical Regeneration and Militarization of the Hindus; 6 Hindu Mahasabha (1915 - ): the moment of arrival; 7 Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (1925 - ): the moment of manoeuvre; 8 Bharatiya Jana Sangh (1951-1977): the moment of uncertainty; 9 Bharatiya Janata Party (1980 -): the moment of consolidation; 9 Conclusion

About the Authors

Bidyut Chakrabarty is the Vice Chancellor of Visva-Bharati University, India.

Bhuwan Jha is an Assistant Professor in History at Satyawati College, University of Delhi, India.

About the Series

Routledge Studies in South Asian Politics

This series is concerned with recent political developments in the region. It will have a range of different approaches and include both single authored monographs and edited volumes covering issues such as international relations, foreign intervention, security, democracy, political economy, ideology and public policy.

Learn more…

Subject Categories

BISAC Subject Codes/Headings:
SOCIAL SCIENCE / Regional Studies