Hunger Trilogy  book cover
1st Edition

Hunger Trilogy

ISBN 9780873327404
Published September 30, 1991 by Routledge
176 Pages

FREE Standard Shipping
USD $46.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

This autobiographical novella was written in 1980 by one of China's leading dissidents, who was released from jail in late October 1990 again after being imprisoned as a pro-democracy activist in the wake of the Tiananmen incident of spring 1989. Wang recounts three episodes of extreme hardship in his life: incarceration in a Guomindang jail during the 1930s for his communist activism, on the run from Japanese troops during the 1940s in a bleak part of Shandong Province, and imprisonment as a "rightist" in Shanghai during the 1960s cultural revolution. The central theme of the three stories is extreme deprivation and "Hunger".

Table of Contents

Introduction: The Growth of a Nation and an Intellectual, Kyna Rubin; Part 1 ; Part 2 ; Part 3;

View More



Kyna Rubin, who received her M.A. in Modern Chinese Literature from the University of British Columbia, was among the first students in 1979–80 to conduct research in China under the Committee on Scholarly Communication with the People’s Republic of China. She was a professional associate at the CSCPRC from 1982 to 1989 and is now a writer and editor at The Urban Institute. She has worked closely with Wang Ruowang since 1980.