Introduction to the New Existentialism  book cover
1st Edition

Introduction to the New Existentialism

ISBN 9780367175085
Published May 8, 2019 by Routledge
196 Pages

SAVE $22.00
was $110.00
USD $88.00

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

Colin Wilson revitalised existentialism with a completely new approach to the philosophy. The six volumes of his ‘Outsider’ series created an existentialism that is not paralysed by its own nihilism. This book, first published in 1966, is a clear summary of the ideas of the ‘Outsider’ cycle, and also develops them to a new stage. Wilson’s ‘new existentialism’ sees philosophy as an intellectual adventure that aims at a real command and control of human existence, and this book is its clearest exponent.

Table of Contents

Part 1. The Crisis in Modern Thought  1. The Old Existentialism  2. What is Phenomenology?  3. The Meaning of Husserl’s Revolution  4. The New Picture of the Universe  Part 2. The New Existentialism  5. The Man in the Fog  6. The Extension of Consciousness  7. Inside the Dark Room  8. Language and Values  9. Everyday Consciousness is a Liar  10. The Power of the Spectre

View More