Irish Elections 1948-77: Results and Analysis : Sources for the Study of Irish Politics 2 book cover
1st Edition

Irish Elections 1948-77: Results and Analysis
Sources for the Study of Irish Politics 2

Edited By

Michael Gallagher

ISBN 9781138973343
Published February 7, 2019 by Routledge
432 Pages

FREE Standard Shipping
USD $48.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

This book is the second in the series Sources for the Study of Irish Politics, which is produced by the Political Studies Association of Ireland (PSAI). The aim of the PSAI is to promote the professional study of politics in and of Ireland, and the aim of the series is to make more widely available material that is at present difficult to obtain.

Building on its predecessor Irish Elections 1922-44: Results and Analysis (1993), this volume assembles the full results of all elections to Dáil Éireann from 1948 to 1977. The book also contains analysis of each election, summaries of votes, percentages and seats for each election, lists of TDs (members of parliament) elected at each election, information on defeated TDs and women TDs, analysis of tranfer patterns, members of govenrment appointed after each election, and the full results of all by-elections held in the period. It also provides summary results of the nine general elections of the period 1981-2007, along with a comprehensive list of TDs 1922-2008.

Elections to Dáil Éireann are held under the PR-STV (single tranferable vote) electoral system, and this volume provides a fascinating account of PR-STV in operation as well as constituting an indispensble record of Irish political history over the middle years of the independent state.

Table of Contents

Introduction  1. The STV electoral system in Ireland  2.The 1948 general election  3.The 1951 general election  4.The 1954 general election  5.The 1957 general election  6.The 1961 general election  7.The 1965 general election  8.The 1969 general election  9.The 1973 general election  10.The 1977 general election  11.Summary results of elections 1981–2007  12. TDs elected to Dáil Éireann 1921–2008 13. Irish political parties 1948–77

View More



Michael Gallagher is Professor of Comparative Politics in the Department of Political Science at Trinity College, University of Dublin. He has also been a visiting professor at New York University and the City University of Hong Kong and is the author or editor of 18 books.