Lucid Exposition of the Middle Way: The Essential Chapters From The Prasannapada of Candrakirti, 1st Edition (Hardback) book cover

Lucid Exposition of the Middle Way

The Essential Chapters From The Prasannapada of Candrakirti, 1st Edition

By Mervyn Sprung


302 pages

Purchasing Options:$ = USD
Hardback: 9780415461504
pub: 2008-02-12
Currently out of stock
eBook (VitalSource) : 9780203706640
pub: 2013-05-13
from $28.98

FREE Standard Shipping!


Originally published in 1979.

The Prasannapada is the explanation of the versed aphorisms of Nagarjuna which are the first and basic statement of the Buddhist philosophy of the middle way. When first published, this volume was the first attempt, in any European language, to present all the essentials of this most radical of Buddhist philosophical works. Seventeen of its twenty-seven chapters have been chosen to give an integrated statement of every aspect of its arguments and conclusions.

Table of Contents

  1. Concern, Method and Assumptions of the Middle Way Philosophy
  2. Attack on the Possibility of Knowledge
  3. Enquiry into Conditions
  4. Motion and Rest
  5. Vision and the Other Sense Faculties
  6. Material Objects and the Other Factors of Personal Existence
  7. The Primal Elements or Character & Characteristic
  8. Desire and Other Afflictions
  9. The Agent Subject and His Doing
  10. Self as Subject of Perception
  11. Fire and Fuel
  12. The Absence of Being in Things
  13. Self-Existence
  14. Self and the Way Things Really Are
  15. Time
  16. The Perfectly Realized One
  17. The Basic Afflictions and the Four Misbeliefs
  18. The Four Buddhist Truths
  19. Nirvana

About the Series

Routledge Library Editions: Buddhism

This Routledge Library Edition brings together titles on Buddhism which were originally published over a period of fifty years or so, starting in the 1920s.

Learn more…

Subject Categories

BISAC Subject Codes/Headings:
RELIGION / General