Masculinities in Contemporary American Culture: An Intersectional Approach to the Complexities and Challenges of Male Identity, 1st Edition (Hardback) book cover

Masculinities in Contemporary American Culture

An Intersectional Approach to the Complexities and Challenges of Male Identity, 1st Edition

By Thomas Keith

Routledge

422 pages | 200 B/W Illus.

Look Inside
Purchasing Options:$ = USD
Paperback: 9781138818071
pub: 2017-01-06
$71.95
x
Hardback: 9781138818064
pub: 2017-01-06
$145.00
x
eBook (VitalSource) : 9781315745459
pub: 2017-01-12
from $35.98


FREE Standard Shipping!

Description

Masculinities in Contemporary American Culture offers readers a multidisciplinary, intersectional overview of masculinity studies that includes both theoretical and applied lenses. Keith combines current research with historical perspectives to demonstrate the contexts in which masculine identities have come evolved. With an emphasis on popular culture -- particularly film, TV, video games, and music -- this text invites students to examine their gendered sensibilities and discuss the ways in which different forms of media appeal to toxic masculinity.

Reviews

Dr. Thomas Keith's new book is proof that there are a numerous amount of innovative ways to engage traditional material. In the tradition of James Loewen's "Lies My Teacher Told Me" and Cornel West & bell hooks "Breaking Bread" this is the new book that the academy will be talking about. Ironically it is a text book that never quite feels like one. With a philosopher's approach to unpacking complex material, yet through the lens of an ex-musician, Dr. Keith tells a profoundly lyrical story that feels like he himself authored the manual for making dysfunctional men, just so that he could tell us how to make repairs. He perhaps is never better in his unabashed and very personal analysis of men and their masculine representation in various forms of media.

Dr. Keith invites us to travel with him as he systematically dismantles the rhyme and reason behind men's actions, both consciously and subconsciously. He paints a poignant picture of the problems visited upon men living and evolving in a patriarchal society, the crisis that accompany being boys, managing masculinity (in sports, as a father, within an organization, and even during the aging process) along the way to becoming men, and the difficulty in avoiding the inescapable violence, pornography, and misogyny inherent within too many romantic relationships.

If you are interested in acquiring the tools to create conversations that lead to deeper understanding, personal epiphanies, and yes, revelations for men to self reflect and own the fact that we can actually be better, and more importantly, do better, then there is no better place to start your exploration than with Dr. Keith's intersectional approach. As a social justice educator for many years in as many educational environments I honestly know no better intellectual armament to wage war against the menace of masculinity than this ground breaking text. Open it, read it, and then see if you can avoid wanting to tell others about it. I seriously doubt you can or would want to.

Dr. J.W. Wiley

Chief Diversity Officer - SUNY Plattsburgh

Lecturer, Philosophy & Interdisciplinary Studies

Author - The NIGGER In You: Challenging Dysfunctional Language, Engaging Leadership Moments

Table of Contents

Chapter 1: Patriarchy, Male Privilege, and the Consequences of Living in a Patriarchal Society

Chapter 2: Men and the Nature - Nurture Debate

Chapter 3: Men's Movements and Organizations

Chapter 4: The Boy Crisis

Chapter 5: Fatherhood

Chapter 6: Men and Media I: The Construction of 'Normal'

Chapter 7: Men and Media II: Advertising, Heteronormativity, and the Construction of Male Insecurity

Chapter 8: Music and Masculinity

Chapter 9: Boys, Men, and Sports

Chapter 10: Men, Anger, Violence, and Crime

Chapter 11: Men, Sex, and Pornography

Chapter 12: Men, Health, and Aging

Postscript: The Future of Masculinity

About the Author

Masculinities in Contemporary American Culture offers readers a multidisciplinary, intersectional overview of masculinity studies that includes both theoretical and applied lenses. Keith combines current research with historical perspectives to demonstrate the contexts in which masculine identities have come evolved. With an emphasis on popular culture -- particularly film, TV, video games, and music -- this text invites students to examine their gendered sensibilities and discuss the ways in which different forms of media appeal to toxic masculinity.

Subject Categories

BISAC Subject Codes/Headings:
SOC026000
SOCIAL SCIENCE / Sociology / General