1st Edition

Modern Indian Political Thought Text and Context

    398 Pages
    by Routledge India

    This book is an unconventional articulation of the political thinking in India in a refreshingly creative manner in more than one way. Empirically, the book becomes innovative by providing an analytically more grasping contextual interpretation of Indian political thought that evolved during the nationalist struggle against colonialism. Insightfully, it attempts to unearth the hitherto unexplored yet vital subaltern strands of political thinking in India as manifested through the mode of numerous significant socio-economic movements operating side by side and sometimes as part of the mainstream nationalist movement. This book articulates the main currents of Indian political thought by locating the text and themes of the thinkers within the socio-economic and politico-cultural contexts in which such ideas were conceptualised and articulated.

    The book also tries to analytically grasp the influences of the various British constitutional devices that appeared as the responses of the colonial government to redress the genuine socio-economic grievances of the various sections of Indian society. The book breaks new ground in not only articulating the main currents of Indian political thought in an analytically more sound approach of context-driven discussion but also provokes new research in the field by charting a new course in grasping and articulating the political thought in India.

    This volume will be useful to the students, researchers and faculty working in the fields of political science, political sociology, political economy and post-colonial contemporary Indian politics in particular. It will also be an invaluable and interesting reading for those interested in South Asian studies.

    Introduction 1. Early Nationalist Responses: Ram Mohan Roy, Bankim Chandra Chatterjee, Dayananda Saraswati and Jotirao Phule 2. Moderates and Extremists: Dadabhai Naoroji, M.G. Ranade and B.G. Tilak 3. Mahatma Gandhi 4. Rabindranath Tagore 5. B.R. Ambedkar 6. Jayaprakash Narayan 7. Jawaharlal Nehru 8. Vallabhbhai Patel 9. Muhammad Iqbal 10. M.N. Roy 11. Ram Manohar Lohia 12. Subhas Chandra Bose 13. V.D. Savarkar 14. Pandita Ramabai 15. Sir Syed Ahmad Khan 16. Deendayal Upadhyaya 17. Nature and Processes of Indian Freedom Struggle 18. Changing Contours of the nationalist campaign in India 19. Landmarks in Constitutional Development during British Rule: A Historical Perspective 20. Socio-economic Dimensions of the Nationalist Movement 21. Culmination of the British Rule and the Making of India‚Äôs Constitution. Conclusion. Glossary. Index


    Bidyut Chakrabarty is Vice-Chancellor at Visva-Bharti, Shantiniketan, West Bengal.

    Rajendra K. Pandey is Professor and Head of the Department of Political Science at Chaudhary Charan Singh University, Meerut, Uttar Pradesh.