Reflections From Shakespeare : A Series of Lectures book cover
1st Edition

Reflections From Shakespeare
A Series of Lectures

  • Available for pre-order. Item will ship after March 30, 2021
ISBN 9780367680923
March 30, 2021 Forthcoming by Routledge
252 Pages

SAVE ~ $24.00
was $120.00
USD $96.00

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

Originally published in 1926, this title was edited from a series of lectures the author gave to raise money for her theatre group the Lena Ashwell Players. Through her work as a producer the author gained a deeper knowledge of a number of Shakespeare’s plays and in order to support her work gave a number of lectures on "Women in Shakespeare". This title was perhaps the first book by a woman of the profession, appealing to the public for a larger and deeper understanding of Shakespeare: the man, his life, and that group of tragedies in which he fathomed Hell, then scaled the Heavens.

Table of Contents

1. The Point of View  2. Shakespeare’s Half-century  3. Shakespeare’s England  4. The Man  5. De Profundis  6. "Hamlet"  7. "Troilus and Cressida"  8. "Othello"  9. "Macbeth"  10. "King Lear"  11. Cleopatra  (i) "Caesar and Cleopatra" by Bernard Shaw  (ii) "Julius Caesar"  (iii) "Anthony and Cleopatra"  12. After the Storm  (i) "Coriolanus"  (ii) "Cymbeline"  (iii) "The Winter’s Tale"  13. "The Tempest"

View More



Lena Ashwell