Requisites of Democracy : Conceptualization, Measurement, and Explanation book cover
1st Edition

Requisites of Democracy
Conceptualization, Measurement, and Explanation

ISBN 9780415596817
Published August 10, 2011 by Routledge
184 Pages 3 B/W Illustrations

FREE Standard Shipping
SAVE $32.00
was $160.00
USD $128.00

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

This book brings together the conceptual and theoretical writings of Joseph Schumpeter, Robert A. Dahl, Guillermo O’Donnell, and T. H. Marshall.  It demonstrates that most of the different conceptions of democracy in the democratization literature can be ordered in one systematic regime typology that distinguishes between ‘thinner’ and ‘thicker’ definitions of democracy.

The authors argue that the empirical pattern revealed by this typology is explained by the combination of internal structural constraints and international factors facilitating democracy. The result of such contending forces is that most of the democratizations in recent decades have only produced competitive elections, rather than ‘more demanding’ attributes of democracy such as political liberties, the rule of law, and social rights.

Examining theoretical and empirical approaches to measuring, defining and understanding democracy, the book will be of interest to scholars of political theory and comparative politics in general and democratization studies in particular.

Table of Contents

Part 1: Conceptualizing and Measuring Democracy  1. Defective Democracy Revisited  2. Conceptualizing and Measuring Democracy I: Towards a Classical Typology  3. Conceptualizing and Measuring Democracy II: Including Social Rights?  Part 2: Trends Across Space and Time  4. Post-Communist Regime Types: Hierarchy across Space  5. Marshall Revisited: The Sequence of Citizenship Rights in the Twenty-First Century  Part 3: Explaining the Hierarchy  6. Stateness First?  7. Necessary Conditions of Democracy?

View More



Jørgen Møller and Svend-Erik Skaaning are both Assistant Professors at the Department of Political Science, Aarhus University, Denmark.