1st Edition

Schoenberg's Chamber Symphonies
The Crystallization and Rediscovery of a Style

ISBN 9781138711075
Published November 27, 2019 by Routledge
230 Pages

USD $120.00

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

This title was first published in 2000:  In this detailed study, Dale (music, U. of Hull) identifies the two chamber symphonies (Opus 9 and Opus 38) that she considers to be pivotal moments in Schoenberg's musical development, and how Opus 38 seeks a reconciliation of tonality and atonality. In addition to analyzing the works, she examines those which preceded Opus 9 and indicate the composer's progression towards atonality. In a similar exploration of pieces surrounding Opus 38, she provides an assessment of the triadic language that became available to the composer in his late tonal and serial works. She also makes reference to Schoenberg's musical sketches, several of which are reproduced in this volume along with other examples from scores.

Table of Contents

1. The Schoenbergian Inheritance.  2. Towards the Emancipation of the Dissonance.  3. Tonal Expansion in the First Chamber Symphony op. 9.  4. Formal Compression in the First Chamber Symphony op. 9.  5. Thematic Processes in the First Chamber Symphony op. 6. The Second Chamber Symphony op. 38: Tonal Beginnings.  7. A Three-Year Interlude in teh Compositional Process: 'the First Step on a New Path.'  8. Resumption and 'Turning Point'.  9. 'On Revient Toujours'.

View More



Katherine Dale