The Baroque Composers: 5-Volume Set: 1st Edition (Hardback) book cover

The Baroque Composers: 5-Volume Set

1st Edition

Edited by David Ledbetter


2,948 pages

Purchasing Options:$ = USD
Hardback: 9780754629030
pub: 2011-02-25
SAVE ~$381.00

FREE Standard Shipping!


Our knowledge of music of the Baroque era has been transformed in recent decades, not least because of the revolution in performing styles and techniques. This series dedicates a volume to each of the central composers - Monteverdi, Purcell, Vivaldi, J.S. Bach and Handel - and brings together selected essays which are significant in terms of their contribution to the progress of thought in their field. These include studies in biography, sources, analysis and genre, reception, performance and more, as relevant to each individual composer. Each volume is edited by a leading authority and includes a substantial introduction which outlines the main developments in recent scholarship, provides context for the selected essays, and points the reader to other crucial items in the rich literature. This series make readily available important articles from publications of restricted circulation that are difficult to access, and is invaluable for researchers and students keen to keep abreast of the immense development of musicology since the mid-twentieth century.

Table of Contents


About the Editor

David Ledbetter is Associate Research Fellow, Royal Northern College of Music, UK. He is an internationally recognised authority on seventeenth- and eighteenth-century keyboard music, with particular research interests in how an understanding of context and structure may deepen and enrich performance. He regularly features at international symposia, and in 2004 organized the Eleventh Biennial International Conference on Baroque Music at the RNCM.

About the Series

The Baroque Composers

The Baroque Composers

Learn more…

Subject Categories

BISAC Subject Codes/Headings:
MUSIC / History & Criticism