1st Edition

The Morning Chronicle Survey of Labour and the Poor
The Metropolitan Districts Volume 6





ISBN 9781138204263
Published February 27, 2018 by Routledge
269 Pages

USD $48.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Preview

Book Description

In the years 1849 and 1850, Henry Mayhew was the metropolitan correspondent of the Morning Chronicle in its national survey of labour and the poor. Only about a third of his Morning Chronicle material was included in his later and better known, publication, London Labour and the London Poor.

First published in 1981, this series of six volumes constitutes Henry Mayhew’s complete Morning Chronicle survey, in the sequence in which it was originally written in 1849 and 1850. It addresses a wealth of topics from cholera in the Jacob’s Island area to the food markets of London. The publication of this complete survey represented the first time in which the whole of Mayhew’s pioneering work was available in one place. The set is introduced by Dr Peter Razzell, who was co-editor of the national Morning Chronicle survey. This sixth volume contains letters from September to December 1850.

This series will be of interest to those studying the history of social welfare, poverty and urbanisation.

Table of Contents

Letter LXIX: Thursday, September 12, 1850; Letter LXX: Thursday, September 19, 1850; Letter LXXI: Thursday, September 26, 1850; Letter LXXII: Thursday, October 3, 1850; Letter LXXIII: Thursday October 10, 1850; Letter LXXIV: Thursday, October 17, 1850; Letter LXXV: Thursday October 24, 1850; Letter LXXVI: Thursday, October 31, 1850; Letter LXXVII: Thursday, November 7, 1850; Letter LXXVIII: Friday, November 15, 1850; Letter LXXIX: Thursday, November 21, 1850; Letter LXXX: Thursday, November 28, 1850; Letter LXXXI: Thursday, December 5, 1850; Letter LXXXII: Thursday, December 12, 1850; Index

...
View More