Asian Studies: Chinese Culture & Society

  • Chinese Fans of Japanese and Korean Pop Culture: Nationalistic Narratives and International Fandom book cover

    Chinese Fans of Japanese and Korean Pop Culture

    Nationalistic Narratives and International Fandom, 1st Edition

    By Lu Chen

    How can Japanese popular culture gain numerous fans in China, despite pervasive anti-Japanese sentiment? How is it that there’s such a strong anti-Korean sentiment in Chinese online fan communities when the official Sino-Korean relationship is quite stable before 2016? Avid fans in China are…

    Paperback – 2019-03-21
    Routledge

  • Changing Taiwanese Identities book cover

    Changing Taiwanese Identities

    1st Edition

    Edited by J. Bruce Jacobs, Peter Kang

    The peoples of Taiwan have been influenced by many different cultures and migrations throughout the island’s history. In the 20th and early 21st centuries especially it has been a stage for cultural and ethnic conflict, not least because of the arrival of mainland Chinese fleeing the Chinese…

    Paperback – 2019-03-21
    Routledge

  • Emerging Adulthood in Hong Kong: Social Forces and Civic Engagement book cover

    Emerging Adulthood in Hong Kong

    Social Forces and Civic Engagement, 1st Edition

    By Chau-kiu Cheung

    How emerging adults, broadly referring to those aged from 18 to 29 years old, fare in civic engagement, as compared with other adults is the focus of the present work. The work takes civic engagement to comprise prosociality in civil society, sustaining social institutions, and challenging…

    Paperback – 2019-03-21
    Routledge

  • Interest Groups and the New Democracy Movement in Hong Kong book cover

    Interest Groups and the New Democracy Movement in Hong Kong

    1st Edition

    Edited by Sonny Shiu-Hing Lo

    A new era in the democracy movement in Hong Kong began on July 1, 2003, when half a million people protested on the streets, and has included the 2012 anti-National Education campaign, the 2014 Occupy Central Movement and the rapid rise of localist groups. The new democracy movement in Hong Kong is…

    Paperback – 2019-03-21
    Routledge

  • Citizenship, Identity and Social Movements in the New Hong Kong: Localism after the Umbrella Movement book cover

    Citizenship, Identity and Social Movements in the New Hong Kong

    Localism after the Umbrella Movement, 1st Edition

    Edited by Wai-man Lam, Luke Cooper

    Hong Kong’s ‘Umbrella Revolution’ has been widely regarded as a watershed moment in the polity’s post-1997 history. While public protest has long been a routine part of Hong Kong’s political culture, the preparedness of large numbers of citizens to participate in civil disobedience represented a…

    Paperback – 2019-03-21
    Routledge

  • Disability Identity and Marriage in Rural China book cover

    Disability Identity and Marriage in Rural China

    1st Edition

    By Jing Yang

    Based on data collected through in-depth fieldwork observation and interviews in Bai Township, this book examines how women with disabilities in rural Southwest China compensate for their disability identity through marriage. As the first book to theorize the married life of rural-based women with…

    Paperback – 2019-03-21
    Routledge
    Routledge Research on Social Work, Social Policy and Social Development in Greater China

  • From Cyber-Nationalism to Fandom Nationalism: The Case of Diba Expedition In China book cover

    From Cyber-Nationalism to Fandom Nationalism

    The Case of Diba Expedition In China, 1st Edition

    Edited by Liu Hailong

    This book gives a deep description of a new trend in Chinese cyber-nationalism through an examination of Diba Expedition 2016. The eight chapters, written by researchers from the United States and China, touch on the topics of history, mobilization, and the organization of new cyber…

    Hardback – 2019-02-28
    Routledge
    Chinese Perspectives on Journalism and Communication

  • The Early Transnational Chinese Cinema Industry book cover

    The Early Transnational Chinese Cinema Industry

    1st Edition

    By Yongchun Fu

    Based on extensive original research, including in studio archives, industrial surveys, official records, trade journals, and English and Chinese newspapers, this book explores the role of the American film industry in the development of cinema in China. It examines the Chinese industry’s response…

    Hardback – 2019-02-21
    Routledge
    Media, Culture and Social Change in Asia

  • Digital China's Informal Circuits: Platforms, Labour and Governance book cover

    Digital China's Informal Circuits

    Platforms, Labour and Governance, 1st Edition

    By Elaine Jing Zhao

    From open source cultures, piracy, to amateur media and on-demand labour, informal media activities are vibrant in circuits of cultural production, distribution, consumption and labour utilisation in China. They come in different sizes and shapes, involve multiple actors, often with transnational…

    Hardback – 2019-02-14
    Routledge
    Media, Culture and Social Change in Asia

  • The Women of Quyi: Liminal Voices and Androgynous Bodies book cover

    The Women of Quyi

    Liminal Voices and Androgynous Bodies, 1st Edition

    By Francesca R. Sborgi Lawson

    Why has the female voice—as the resonant incarnation of the female body—inspired both fascination and ambivalence? Why were women restricted from performing on the Chinese public stage? How have female roles and voices been appropriated by men throughout much of the history of Chinese theatre? Why…

    Paperback – 2019-02-07
    Routledge
    SOAS Studies in Music

  • Activating China: Local Actors, Foreign Influence, and State Response book cover

    Activating China

    Local Actors, Foreign Influence, and State Response, 1st Edition

    By Setsuko Matsuzawa

    This book examines the effects of the transnational social and environmental advocacy of foreign NGOs in China. Based on three case studies, including China’s first participatory development project, its first successful case of transnational anti-dam activism, and its first national park project,…

    Hardback – 2019-01-23
    Routledge
    The Mobilization Series on Social Movements, Protest, and Culture

  • From Citizenship Education to National Education: Perceptions of National Identity and National Education of Hong Kong’s Secondary School Teachers book cover

    From Citizenship Education to National Education

    Perceptions of National Identity and National Education of Hong Kong’s Secondary School Teachers, 1st Edition

    By King Man Eric Chong

    This book makes a timely contribution to understanding perceptions on national identity and National Education, with both of them have become controversial topics in Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (SAR) of China. In a so-called globalization era, national identity and National Education,…

    Paperback – 2019-01-23
    Routledge

7Series in Chinese Culture & Society

Product Search