Cultural Studies: Popular Culture

  • Consuming Football in Late Modern Life book cover

    Consuming Football in Late Modern Life

    1st Edition

    By Kevin Dixon

    Consuming Football in Late Modern Life explores the phenomenon of football (soccer) fandom as consumption in the age of late modernity. By centralising fandom within the sociology of consumption, the book examines how this phenomenon equates to a fluid series of consumption activities that are…

    Paperback – 2019-04-15
    Routledge

  • Fashion and Masculinities in Popular Culture book cover

    Fashion and Masculinities in Popular Culture

    1st Edition

    By Adam Geczy, Vicki Karaminas

    Popular culture in the latter half of the twentieth century precipitated a decisive change in style and body image. Postwar film, television, radio shows, pulp fiction and comics placed heroic types firmly within public consciousness. This book concentrates on these heroic male types as they have…

    Paperback – 2019-04-15
    Routledge
    Routledge Research in Cultural and Media Studies

  • The New Narcissus in the Age of Reality Television book cover

    The New Narcissus in the Age of Reality Television

    1st Edition

    By Megan Collins

    This book explores the emergence and encouragement of the new narcissus in our society and the ways in which this is portrayed in reality television. Through studies of well-known reality shows, including Toddlers and Tiaras, Hoarders, Sister Wives, Catfish: The TV Show, Celebrity Rehab with Dr.…

    Paperback – 2019-04-15
    Routledge
    Classical and Contemporary Social Theory

  • Envisioning Legality: Law, Culture and Representation book cover

    Envisioning Legality

    Law, Culture and Representation, 1st Edition

    Edited by Timothy Peters, Karen Crawley

    Envisioning Legality: Law, Culture and Representation is a path-breaking collection of some of the world’s leading cultural legal scholars addressing issues of law, representation and the image. Law is constituted in and through the representations that hold us in their thrall, and this book…

    Paperback – 2019-03-21
    Routledge

  • Chinese Fans of Japanese and Korean Pop Culture: Nationalistic Narratives and International Fandom book cover

    Chinese Fans of Japanese and Korean Pop Culture

    Nationalistic Narratives and International Fandom, 1st Edition

    By Lu Chen

    How can Japanese popular culture gain numerous fans in China, despite pervasive anti-Japanese sentiment? How is it that there’s such a strong anti-Korean sentiment in Chinese online fan communities when the official Sino-Korean relationship is quite stable before 2016? Avid fans in China are…

    Paperback – 2019-03-21
    Routledge

  • Comic Performativities: Identity, Internet Outrage, and the Aesthetics of Communication book cover

    Comic Performativities

    Identity, Internet Outrage, and the Aesthetics of Communication, 1st Edition

    By Dustin Goltz

    Comic Performativities: Identity, Internet Outrage, and the Aesthetics of Communication studies patterns of criticism and public debate in the relationship between humour, identity, and offense. In an increasingly reductive and politically charged debate, right-wing pundits argue leftist politics…

    Paperback – 2019-03-05
    Routledge

  • The Routledge History of Latin American Culture book cover

    The Routledge History of Latin American Culture

    1st Edition

    Edited by Carlos Manuel Salomon

    The Routledge History of Latin American Culture delves into the cultural history of Latin America from the end of the colonial period to the twentieth century, focusing on the formation of national, racial, and ethnic identity, the culture of resistance, the effects of Eurocentrism, and the…

    Paperback – 2019-03-05
    Routledge
    Routledge Histories

  • Producing Masculinity: The Internet, Gender, and Sexuality book cover

    Producing Masculinity

    The Internet, Gender, and Sexuality, 1st Edition

    By Michele White

    Thoughtful, witty, and illuminating, in this book Michele White explores the ways normative masculinity is associated with computers and the Internet and is a commonly enacted online gender practice. Through close readings and a series of case studies that range from wedding forums to men’s makeup…

    Paperback – 2019-02-25
    Routledge

  • Neoliberalism and the Media book cover

    Neoliberalism and the Media

    1st Edition

    Edited by Marian Meyers

    This book examines the multiple ways that popular media mainstream and reinforce neoliberal ideology, exposing how they promote neoliberalism’s underlying ideas, values and beliefs so as to naturalize inequality, undercut democracy and contribute to the collapse of social notions of community and…

    Paperback – 2019-02-12
    Routledge

  • Music Video After MTV: Audiovisual Studies, New Media, and Popular Music book cover

    Music Video After MTV

    Audiovisual Studies, New Media, and Popular Music, 1st Edition

    By Mathias Bonde Korsgaard

    Since the 1980s, music videos have been everywhere, and today almost all of the most-viewed clips on YouTube are music videos. However, in academia, music videos do not currently share this popularity. Music Video After MTV gives music video its due academic credit by exploring the changing…

    Paperback – 2019-02-07
    Routledge
    Routledge Research in Music

  • Bruce Springsteen and Popular Music: Rhetoric, Social Consciousness, and Contemporary Culture book cover

    Bruce Springsteen and Popular Music

    Rhetoric, Social Consciousness, and Contemporary Culture, 1st Edition

    Edited by William I. Wolff

    This interdisciplinary volume enters the scholarly conversation about Bruce Springsteen at the moment when he has reinforced his status of global superstar and achieved the status of social critic. Covering musical and cultural developments, chapters primarily consider work Springsteen has released…

    Paperback – 2019-02-07
    Routledge
    Routledge Studies in Popular Music

  • Hip-Hop Authenticity and the London Scene: Living Out Authenticity in Popular Music book cover

    Hip-Hop Authenticity and the London Scene

    Living Out Authenticity in Popular Music, 1st Edition

    By Laura Speers

    This book explores the highly-valued, and often highly-charged, ideal of authenticity in hip-hop — what it is, why it is important, and how it affects the day-to-day life of rap artists. By analyzing the practices, identities, and struggles that shape the lives of rappers in the London scene, the…

    Paperback – 2019-02-04
    Routledge
    Routledge Studies in Popular Music

10Series in Popular Culture

Product Search