• Gaming Empire in Children's British Board Games, 1836-1860 book cover

    Gaming Empire in Children's British Board Games, 1836-1860

    1st Edition

    By Megan A. Norcia

    Over a century before Monopoly invited child players to bankrupt one another with merry ruthlessness, a lively and profitable board game industry thrived in Britain from the 1750s onward, thanks to publishers like John Wallis, John Betts, and William Spooner. As part of the new wave of materials…

    Hardback – 2019-03-26
    Routledge
    Studies in Childhood, 1700 to the Present

  • Women's Studies: The Basics book cover

    Women's Studies: The Basics

    2nd Edition

    By Bonnie G. Smith

    Women’s Studies: The Basics is an accessible introduction to the pathbreaking and cross-disciplinary study of women—past and present. Tracing the history of the field from its origins, this revised and updated text sets out the main topics making up the discipline, exploring its global development…

    Paperback – 2019-03-25
    Routledge
    The Basics

  • The European Handbook of Media Accountability book cover

    The European Handbook of Media Accountability

    1st Edition

    Edited by Tobias Eberwein, Susanne Fengler, Matthias Karmasin

    In recent years, the Leveson Inquiry in Great Britain, as well as the EU High-Level Group on Media Freedom and Pluralism, have stirred heated debates about media accountability and media self-regulation across Europe. How responsible are journalists? How well-developed are infrastructures of media…

    Paperback – 2019-03-22
    Routledge

  • Envisioning Legality: Law, Culture and Representation book cover

    Envisioning Legality

    Law, Culture and Representation, 1st Edition

    Edited by Timothy Peters, Karen Crawley

    Envisioning Legality: Law, Culture and Representation is a path-breaking collection of some of the world’s leading cultural legal scholars addressing issues of law, representation and the image. Law is constituted in and through the representations that hold us in their thrall, and this book…

    Paperback – 2019-03-21
    Routledge

  • Law, Art and the Commons book cover

    Law, Art and the Commons

    1st Edition

    By Merima Bruncevic

    The concept of the cultural commons has become increasingly important for legal studies. Within this field, however, it is a contested concept: at once presented as a sphere for creativity, democratic access and freedom of speech, but one that denies property rights and misappropriates the…

    Paperback – 2019-03-21
    Routledge
    Space, Materiality and the Normative

  • Cultures of Sustainability and Wellbeing: Theories, Histories and Policies book cover

    Cultures of Sustainability and Wellbeing

    Theories, Histories and Policies, 1st Edition

    Edited by Paola Spinozzi, Massimiliano Mazzanti

     Cultures of Sustainability and Wellbeing: Theories, Histories and Policies examines and assesses the interdependence between sustainability and wellbeing by drawing attention to humans as producers and consumers in a post-human age. Why wellbeing ought to be regarded as essential to…

    Paperback – 2019-03-21
    Routledge
    Routledge Studies in Culture and Sustainable Development

  • The Sociology of Hypocrisy: An Analysis of Sport and Religion book cover

    The Sociology of Hypocrisy

    An Analysis of Sport and Religion, 1st Edition

    By Stephen G. Wieting

    With close attention to the spheres of sport and religion as important sites of moral currency, this book draws on media coverage of major cases of hypocrisy, attending to differing meanings and consequences of hypocrisy within the US, France and Iceland. Instances come from scandals within the…

    Paperback – 2019-03-21
    Routledge

  • Chinese Fans of Japanese and Korean Pop Culture: Nationalistic Narratives and International Fandom book cover

    Chinese Fans of Japanese and Korean Pop Culture

    Nationalistic Narratives and International Fandom, 1st Edition

    By Lu Chen

    How can Japanese popular culture gain numerous fans in China, despite pervasive anti-Japanese sentiment? How is it that there’s such a strong anti-Korean sentiment in Chinese online fan communities when the official Sino-Korean relationship is quite stable before 2016? Avid fans in China are…

    Paperback – 2019-03-21
    Routledge

  • Changing Taiwanese Identities book cover

    Changing Taiwanese Identities

    1st Edition

    Edited by J. Bruce Jacobs, Peter Kang

    The peoples of Taiwan have been influenced by many different cultures and migrations throughout the island’s history. In the 20th and early 21st centuries especially it has been a stage for cultural and ethnic conflict, not least because of the arrival of mainland Chinese fleeing the Chinese…

    Paperback – 2019-03-21
    Routledge

  • Rethinking Japanese Studies: Eurocentrism and the Asia-Pacific Region book cover

    Rethinking Japanese Studies

    Eurocentrism and the Asia-Pacific Region, 1st Edition

    Edited by Kaori Okano, Yoshio Sugimoto

    Japanese Studies has provided a fertile space for non-Eurocentric analysis for a number of reasons. It has been embroiled in the long-running internal debate over the so-called Nihonjinron, revolving around the extent to which the effective interpretation of Japanese society and culture requires…

    Paperback – 2019-03-21
    Routledge

  • Psychotherapy, Anthropology and the Work of Culture book cover

    Psychotherapy, Anthropology and the Work of Culture

    1st Edition

    Edited by Keir Martin

    Anthropology and psychotherapy have a long and important historical relationship, and in this fascinating collection practitioners with experience in both fields explore how the concept of ‘culture’ is deployed to guide and frame contemporary therapeutic theory, training and practice. This task is…

    Paperback – 2019-03-20
    Routledge

  • National Identity, Language and Education in Malaysia: Search for a Middle Ground between Malay Hegemony and Equality book cover

    National Identity, Language and Education in Malaysia

    Search for a Middle Ground between Malay Hegemony and Equality, 1st Edition

    By Noriyuki Segawa

    This book explores the ways in which language and education policies have contributed to the development of national integration in Malaysia, by examining whether and how policies have succeeded in forming a middle ground. Considered through the lenses of policy-making structure and achievement,…

    Hardback – 2019-03-19
    Routledge
    Asia's Transformations

43Series in Cultural Studies

Product Search