Law: Book Series

Routledge Studies in Comparative Legal History

This series covers the general area of comparative legal history, including contributions focusing on both 'internal' legal history, i.e., doctrinal and disciplinary developments in the law, and 'external' legal history, i.e., legal ideas and institutions in wider contexts. Considering the various legal traditions worldwide, the series also welcomes works dealing with other laws and customs from around the globe. Temporal or geographical in approach, the series will consider both legal and similar law-like normative traditions. Works encompassing views from different schools of thought and contributions from comparative and transnational historiography, including interdisciplinary approaches, are encouraged. With a focus on higher level research in the form of monographs and edited collections, proposals for supplementary reading and textbooks are also welcomed.

Series editors :

Aniceto Masferrer is Professor of Legal History and teaches legal history and comparative law at the Faculty of Law, University of Valencia, Spain. He has published extensively on criminal law from an historical and comparative perspective, as well as on the codification movement and fundamental rights in the Western legal tradition.

Heikki Tapio Pihlajamäki is Professor of Comparative Legal History, Faculty of Law, University of Helsinki, Finland. He has published widely, in a number of languages, on various aspects of comparative legal history.

Series board:

Tatjana Borisova, Higher School of Economics, St. Petersburg

Luisa Brunori, Lille 2 Uniersity

Emanuele Conte, Università degli Studi Roma Tre

Matthew Dyson, University of Oxford

Manuel Gutan, Lucian Blaga University of Sibiu

Dirk Heirbaut, Ghent University

Phillip Hellwege, University of Augsburg

Mia Korpiola, University of Turku

Marju Luts, University of Tartu

Emi Matsumoto, Aoyama Gakuin University

Matthew C. Mirow, Florida International University

Ulrike Müßig, Universität Passau

Jacques du Plessis, Stellenbosch University

Helle Vogt, University of Copenhagen

James Q. Whitman, Yale Law School

Alain Wijffels, Université Catholique de Louvain, Leiden University, CNRS