Philosophy of Psychology Products

  • Consciousness

    An Introduction, 3rd Edition

    By Susan Blackmore

    Paperback – 2017-01-01 
    Routledge

  • Welfare, Meaning, and Worth

    By Aaron Smuts

    Welfare, Meaning, and Worth argues that there is more to what makes a life worth living than welfare, and that a good life does not consist of what is merely good for the one who lives it. Smuts defends an objective list theory that states that the notion of worth captures matters of importance for…

    Hardback – 2016-12-31 
    Routledge
    Routledge Studies in Ethics and Moral Theory

  • Self-Reflection for the Opaque Mind

    An Essay in Neo-Sellarsian Philosophy

    By T. Parent

    This volume attempts to solve a grave problem about critical self-reflection. The worry is that we critical thinkers are all in "epistemic bad faith" in light of what psychology tells us. After all, the research shows not merely that we are bad at detecting "ego-threatening" thoughts à la Freud. It…

    Hardback – 2016-12-15 
    Routledge
    Routledge Studies in Contemporary Philosophy

  • Argumentation

    Analysis and Evaluation, 2nd Edition

    By Frans H. van Eemeren, A. Francisca Sn Henkemans

    This book concentrates on argumentation as it emerges in ordinary discourse, whether the discourse is institutionalized or strictly informal. Crucial concepts from the theory of argumentation are systematically discussed and explained with the help of examples from real-life discourse and texts.…

    Paperback – 2016-11-29 
    Routledge
    Routledge Communication Series

  • An Analysis of Knowing

    By John Hartland-Swann

    First published in 1958, this book focuses on the meaning, interpretation, and use of the verb ‘to know’. In our daily lives we are often claiming to know this or not to know that; and it is not therefore surprising that the verb has played a major role in philosophical speculation from Plato down…

    Paperback – 2016-11-05 
    Routledge
    Routledge Revivals

  • An Analysis of Morals

    By John Hartland-Swann

    First published in 1960, this book is intended to be a concise but complete treatise on Ethics. In the course of our lives we all face moral problems. Some of these we solve easily, some with difficulty and some not at all. It is the job of the moral philosopher to examine the general nature of…

    Paperback – 2016-11-05 
    Routledge
    Routledge Revivals

  • Matter, Mind and Meaning

    By Whately Carington

    This volume is concerned with the philosophical foundations of Psychical Research. Traditional metaphysical theories have led to apparently insoluble problems concerning the nature of mind, of matter and the relation between the two. The author holds that these theories arise from misconception…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • Brain and Mind

    Modern Concepts of the Nature of Mind

    Edited by J. R. Smythies

    Presenting some modern views on the problem of the nature of mind and its relationship to the brain, this book, published in 1965, brings together contributors from various disciplines which are affected by this issue. Coming from different philosophical outlooks as well as subjects, these…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • The Mind and the Soul

    An Introduction to the Philosophy of Mind

    By Jenny Teichman

    The concepts of mind and soul have occupied the thoughts of philosophers throughout the ages and have given rise to numerous conflicting theories. This book provides an incisive and stimulating introduction to central tropics in the philosophy of mind. The author writes about the differences and…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • Cybernetics and the Philosophy of Mind

    By Kenneth Sayre

    This book, published in 1976, presents an entirely original approach to the subject of the mind-body problem, examining it in terms of the conceptual links between the physical sciences and the sciences of human behaviour. It is based on the cybernetic concepts of information and feedback and on…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • The Mental as Physical

    By Edgar Wilson

    The central theme of this impressively argued study is that the mental and physical are identical. Drawing heavily on recent scientific research into the mind-brain relationship, Dr Wilson argues that human mentality, rationality and purposefulness are phenomena which come within the compass of…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

    By J. N. Findlay

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

1Series in Philosophy of Psychology

Product Search