Philosophy of Psychology Products

  • An Analysis of Knowing

    By John Hartland-Swann

    First published in 1958, this book focuses on the meaning, interpretation, and use of the verb ‘to know’. In our daily lives we are often claiming to know this or not to know that; and it is not therefore surprising that the verb has played a major role in philosophical speculation from Plato down…

    Paperback – 2016-11-05 
    Routledge
    Routledge Revivals

  • An Analysis of Morals

    By John Hartland-Swann

    First published in 1960, this book is intended to be a concise but complete treatise on Ethics. In the course of our lives we all face moral problems. Some of these we solve easily, some with difficulty and some not at all. It is the job of the moral philosopher to examine the general nature of…

    Paperback – 2016-11-05 
    Routledge
    Routledge Revivals

  • Matter, Mind and Meaning

    By Whately Carington

    This volume is concerned with the philosophical foundations of Psychical Research. Traditional metaphysical theories have led to apparently insoluble problems concerning the nature of mind, of matter and the relation between the two. The author holds that these theories arise from misconception…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • Brain and Mind

    Modern Concepts of the Nature of Mind

    Edited by J. R. Smythies

    Presenting some modern views on the problem of the nature of mind and its relationship to the brain, this book, published in 1965, brings together contributors from various disciplines which are affected by this issue. Coming from different philosophical outlooks as well as subjects, these…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • The Mind and the Soul

    An Introduction to the Philosophy of Mind

    By Jenny Teichman

    The concepts of mind and soul have occupied the thoughts of philosophers throughout the ages and have given rise to numerous conflicting theories. This book provides an incisive and stimulating introduction to central tropics in the philosophy of mind. The author writes about the differences and…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • Cybernetics and the Philosophy of Mind

    By Kenneth Sayre

    This book, published in 1976, presents an entirely original approach to the subject of the mind-body problem, examining it in terms of the conceptual links between the physical sciences and the sciences of human behaviour. It is based on the cybernetic concepts of information and feedback and on…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • The Mental as Physical

    By Edgar Wilson

    The central theme of this impressively argued study is that the mental and physical are identical. Drawing heavily on recent scientific research into the mind-brain relationship, Dr Wilson argues that human mentality, rationality and purposefulness are phenomena which come within the compass of…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

    By J. N. Findlay

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • Physicalism

    By K. V. Wilkes

    The primary aim of this study is to dissolve the mind-body problem. It shows how the ‘problem’ separates into two distinct sets of issues, concerning ontology on the one hand, and explanation on the other, and argues that explanation – whether or not human behaviour can be explained in physical…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • The Embodied Mind

    By G. N. A. Vesey

    Originally published in 1965. For hundreds of years the thinking of philosophers, psychologists, and theologians on the problem of the mind’s relation to the body was dominated by the Cartesian notion that mind and matter are distinct substances. That Descartes also held that there is a union of…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • Psyche’s Prophet

    The Selected Writings of Nicholas A. Cummings

    By Nicholas Cummings

    In this collection of articles spanning 65 years as a clinical psychologist, Nick  A. Cummings selects articles that heralded often far in advance each phase of clinical psychology’s evolution to the present. A pioneer in effecting change, Cummings established the first free-standing…

    Hardback – 2016-08-05 
    Routledge
    World Library of Mental Health

  • The Crafting of Grief

    Constructing Aesthetic Responses to Loss

    By Lorraine Hedtke, John Winslade

    Many books on grief lay out a model to be followed, either for bereaved persons to live through or for professionals to practice, and usually follow some familiar prescriptions for what people should do to reach an accommodation with loss. The Crafting of Grief is different: it focuses on…

    Paperback – 2016-08-01 
    Routledge
    Series in Death, Dying, and Bereavement

1Series in Philosophy of Psychology

Product Search