Moral Theory Products

  • The Routledge Handbook of Franz Brentano and the Brentano School

    Edited by Uriah Kriegel

    Both through his own work and that of his students, Franz Clemens Brentano (1838–1917) had an often underappreciated influence on the course of twentieth- and twenty-first-century philosophy. The Routledge Handbook of Franz Brentano and the Brentano School offers full coverage of Brentano’s…

    Hardback – 2017-03-24
    Routledge
    Routledge Handbooks in Philosophy

  • Ethics at the End of Life

    New Issues and Arguments

    Edited by John Davis

    The 14 chapters in Ethics at the End of Life: New Issues and Arguments, all published here for the first time, focus on recent thinking in this important area, helping initiate issues and lines of argument that have not been explored previously.  At the same time, a reader can use this volume to…

    Hardback – 2016-12-09
    Routledge

  • An Analysis of Morals

    By John Hartland-Swann

    First published in 1960, this book is intended to be a concise but complete treatise on Ethics. In the course of our lives we all face moral problems. Some of these we solve easily, some with difficulty and some not at all. It is the job of the moral philosopher to examine the general nature of…

    Paperback – 2016-12-07
    Routledge
    Routledge Revivals

  • Facts and Values

    The Ethics and Metaphysics of Normativity

    Edited by Giancarlo Marchetti, Sarin Marchetti

    This collection offers a synoptic view of current philosophical debates concerning the relationship between facts and values, bringing together a wide spectrum of contributors committed to testing the validity of this dichotomy, exploring alternatives, and assessing their implications. The…

    Hardback – 2016-12-06
    Routledge
    Routledge Studies in Contemporary Philosophy

  • The Routledge Companion to Free Will

    Edited by Kevin Timpe, Meghan Griffith, Neil Levy

    Questions concerning free will are intertwined with issues in almost every area of philosophy, from metaphysics to philosophy of mind to moral philosophy, and are also informed by work in different areas of science (principally physics, neuroscience and social psychology). Free will is also a…

    Hardback – 2016-11-29
    Routledge
    Routledge Philosophy Companions

  • Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

    By J. N. Findlay

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids…

    Paperback – 2016-09-26
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • Contemporary Moral Issues

    Diversity and Consensus, 4th Edition

    By Lawrence M. Hinman

    Contemporary Moral Issues is an anthology that provides a selection of readings on contemporary social issues revolving around three general themes: Matters of Life and Death, Matters of Equality and Diversity, and Expanding the Circle, which includes duties beyond borders, living together with…

    Paperback – 2016-09-14
    Routledge

  • Perspectives on Ignorance from Moral and Social Philosophy

    Edited by Rik Peels

    This edited collection focuses on the moral and social dimensions of ignorance—an undertheorized category in analytic philosophy. Contributors address such issues as the relation between ignorance and deception, ignorance as a moral excuse, ignorance as a legal excuse, and the relation between…

    Hardback – 2016-07-19
    Routledge
    Routledge Studies in Contemporary Philosophy

  • Elizabeth Anscombe, 4-vol. set

    Edited by Roger Teichmann

    Elizabeth Anscombe (1919–2001) was one of the most important philosophers of the second half of the twentieth century, making major contributions in philosophy of mind, ethics, and metaphysics. She is particularly renowned for her work on intention and action. A pupil and friend of Ludwig…

    Hardback – 2016-07-12
    Routledge
    Critical Assessments of Leading Philosophers

  • Free Will

    A Contemporary Introduction

    By Michael McKenna, Derk Pereboom

    As an advanced introduction to the challenging topic of free will, this book is designed for upper-level undergraduates interested in a comprehensive first-stop into the field’s issues and debates. It is written by two of the leading participants in those debates—a compatibilist on the issue of…

    Paperback – 2016-07-08
    Routledge
    Routledge Contemporary Introductions to Philosophy

  • New Paradigm Psychology of Reasoning

    Basic and applied perspectives

    Edited by Shira Elqayam, Jean-François Bonnefon, David E. Over

    In recent years the psychology of reasoning has undergone radical change, which can only be seen as a Kuhn-style scientific revolution. This shift has been dubbed ‘New Paradigm’. For years, psychologists of reasoning focused on binary truth values and regarded the influence of belief as a bias. In…

    Hardback – 2016-06-29
    Routledge

  • A Very Bad Wizard

    Morality Behind the Curtain, 2nd Edition

    By Tamler Sommers

    In the first edition of A Very Bad Wizard: Morality Behind the Curtain – Nine Conversations, philosopher Tamler Sommers talked with an interdisciplinary group of the world’s leading researchers—from the fields of social psychology, moral philosophy, cognitive science, and primatology—all working on…

    Paperback – 2016-05-24
    Routledge

4Series in Moral Theory

Product Search