Moral Theory Products

  • Ethics at the End of Life

    New Issues and Arguments

    Edited by John Davis

    The 14 chapters in Ethics at the End of Life: New Issues and Arguments, all published here for the first time, focus on recent thinking in this important area, helping initiate issues and lines of argument that have not been explored previously. At the same time, a reader can use this volume to…

    Hardback – 2016-11-30 
    Routledge

  • Refugees and the Ethics of Forced Displacement

    By Serena Parekh

    This book is a philosophical analysis of the ethical treatment of refugees and stateless people, a group of people who, though extremely important politically, have been greatly under theorized philosophically. The limited philosophical discussion of refugees by philosophers focuses narrowly on the…

    Hardback – 2016-11-29 
    Routledge
    Routledge Research in Applied Ethics

  • An Analysis of Morals

    By John Hartland-Swann

    First published in 1960, this book is intended to be a concise but complete treatise on Ethics. In the course of our lives we all face moral problems. Some of these we solve easily, some with difficulty and some not at all. It is the job of the moral philosopher to examine the general nature of…

    Paperback – 2016-11-05 
    Routledge
    Routledge Revivals

  • The Routlege Companion to Free Will

    Edited by Kevin Timpe, Meghan Griffith, Neil Levy

    Questions concerning free will are intertwined with issues in almost every area of philosophy, from metaphysics to philosophy of mind to moral philosophy, and are also informed by work in different areas of science (principally physics, neuroscience and social psychology). Free will is also a…

    Hardback – 2016-11-03 
    Routledge
    Routledge Philosophy Companions

  • Vulnerability, Autonomy, and Applied Ethics

    Edited by Christine Straehle

    Vulnerability is an important concern of moral philosophy, political philosophy and many discussions in applied ethics. Yet the concept itself—what it is and why it is morally salient—is under-theorized. Vulnerability, Autonomy, and Applied Ethics brings together theorists working on…

    Hardback – 2016-10-26 
    Routledge
    Routledge Research in Applied Ethics

  • Talking about Evil

    Psychoanalytic, Social, and Cultural Perspectives

    Edited by Rina Lazar

    How can we talk about evil? How can we make sense of its presence all around us? How can we come to terms with the sad fact that our involvement in doing or enabling evil is an interminable aspect of our lives in the world? This book is an attempt to engage these questions in a new way. Written…

    Paperback – 2016-10-12 
    Routledge
    Relational Perspectives Book Series

  • Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

    By J. N. Findlay

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • Cine-Ethics

    Ethical Dimensions of Film Theory, Practice, and Spectatorship

    Edited by Jinhee Choi, Mattias Frey

    This volume looks at the significance and range of ethical questions that pertain to various film practices. Diverse philosophical traditions provide useful frameworks to discuss spectators’ affective and emotional engagement with film, which can function as a moral ground for one’s connection to…

    Paperback – 2016-09-15 
    Routledge
    Routledge Advances in Film Studies

  • Love, Reason and Morality

    Edited by Katrien Schaubroeck, Esther Kroeker

    This book brings together new essays that explore the connection between love and reasons. The observation that considerations of love carry significant weight in the deliberative process opens up new perspectives in the classic discussion about practical reasons, and gives rise to many interesting…

    Hardback – 2016-08-09
    Routledge
    Routledge Studies in Ethics and Moral Theory

  • Kant and the Cultivation of Virtue

    By Chris W. Surprenant

    In this book, Chris W. Surprenant puts forward an original position concerning Kant’s practical philosophy and the intersection between his moral and political philosophy. Although Kant provides a detailed account of the nature of morality, the nature of human virtue, and how right manifests itself…

    Paperback – 2016-07-27
    Routledge
    Routledge Studies in Eighteenth-Century Philosophy

  • The Philosophy and Psychology of Character and Happiness

    Edited by Nancy E. Snow, Franco V. Trivigno

    Since ancient times, character, virtue, and happiness have been central to thinking about how to live well. Yet until recently, philosophers have thought about these topics in an empirical vacuum. Taking up the general challenge of situationism – that philosophers should pay attention to empirical…

    Paperback – 2016-07-27
    Routledge
    Routledge Studies in Ethics and Moral Theory

  • Perspectives on Ignorance from Moral and Social Philosophy

    Edited by Rik Peels

    This edited collection focuses on the moral and social dimensions of ignorance—an undertheorized category in analytic philosophy. Contributors address such issues as the relation between ignorance and deception, ignorance as a moral excuse, ignorance as a legal excuse, and the relation between…

    Hardback – 2016-07-19
    Routledge
    Routledge Studies in Contemporary Philosophy

4Series in Moral Theory

Product Search