Moral Theory Products

  • Welfare, Meaning, and Worth

    By Aaron Smuts

    Welfare, Meaning, and Worth argues that there is more to what makes a life worth living than welfare, and that a good life does not consist of what is merely good for the one who lives it. Smuts defends an objective list theory that states that the notion of worth captures matters of importance for…

    Hardback – 2016-12-31 
    Routledge Studies in Ethics and Moral Theory

  • Facts and Values

    The Ethics and Metaphysics of Normativity

    Edited by Giancarlo Marchetti, Sarin Marchetti

    This collection offers a synoptic view of current philosophical debates concerning the relationship between facts and values, bringing together a wide spectrum of contributors committed to testing the validity of this dichotomy, exploring alternatives, and assessing their implications. The…

    Hardback – 2016-12-21 
    Routledge Studies in Contemporary Philosophy

  • Ethics at the End of Life

    New Issues and Arguments

    Edited by John Davis

    The 14 chapters in Ethics at the End of Life: New Issues and Arguments, all published here for the first time, focus on recent thinking in this important area, helping initiate issues and lines of argument that have not been explored previously. At the same time, a reader can use this volume to…

    Hardback – 2016-11-30 

  • Refugees and the Ethics of Forced Displacement

    By Serena Parekh

    This book is a philosophical analysis of the ethical treatment of refugees and stateless people, a group of people who, though extremely important politically, have been greatly under theorized philosophically. The limited philosophical discussion of refugees by philosophers focuses narrowly on the…

    Hardback – 2016-11-17 
    Routledge Research in Applied Ethics

  • The Routlege Companion to Free Will

    Edited by Kevin Timpe, Meghan Griffith, Neil Levy

    Questions concerning free will are intertwined with issues in almost every area of philosophy, from metaphysics to philosophy of mind to moral philosophy, and are also informed by work in different areas of science (principally physics, neuroscience and social psychology). Free will is also a…

    Hardback – 2016-11-10 
    Routledge Philosophy Companions

  • An Analysis of Morals

    By John Hartland-Swann

    First published in 1960, this book is intended to be a concise but complete treatise on Ethics. In the course of our lives we all face moral problems. Some of these we solve easily, some with difficulty and some not at all. It is the job of the moral philosopher to examine the general nature of…

    Paperback – 2016-11-05 
    Routledge Revivals

  • Vulnerability, Autonomy, and Applied Ethics

    Edited by Christine Straehle

    Vulnerability is an important concern of moral philosophy, political philosophy and many discussions in applied ethics. Yet the concept itself—what it is and why it is morally salient—is under-theorized. Vulnerability, Autonomy, and Applied Ethics brings together theorists working on…

    Hardback – 2016-10-26 
    Routledge Research in Applied Ethics

  • Cine-Ethics

    Ethical Dimensions of Film Theory, Practice, and Spectatorship

    Edited by Jinhee Choi, Mattias Frey

    This volume looks at the significance and range of ethical questions that pertain to various film practices. Diverse philosophical traditions provide useful frameworks to discuss spectators’ affective and emotional engagement with film, which can function as a moral ground for one’s connection to…

    Paperback – 2016-10-10
    Routledge Advances in Film Studies

  • Talking about Evil

    Psychoanalytic, Social, and Cultural Perspectives

    Edited by Rina Lazar

    How can we talk about evil? How can we make sense of its presence all around us? How can we come to terms with the sad fact that our involvement in doing or enabling evil is an interminable aspect of our lives in the world? This book is an attempt to engage these questions in a new way. Written…

    Paperback – 2016-10-05
    Relational Perspectives Book Series

  • Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

    By J. N. Findlay

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids…

    Paperback – 2016-09-26
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • Contemporary Moral Issues

    Diversity and Consensus, 4th Edition

    By Lawrence M. Hinman

    Contemporary Moral Issues is an anthology that provides a selection of readings on contemporary social issues revolving around three general themes: Matters of Life and Death, Matters of Equality and Diversity, and Expanding the Circle, which includes duties beyond borders, living together with…

    Paperback – 2016-09-14

  • Love, Reason and Morality

    Edited by Katrien Schaubroeck, Esther Kroeker

    This book brings together new essays that explore the connection between love and reasons. The observation that considerations of love carry significant weight in the deliberative process opens up new perspectives in the classic discussion about practical reasons, and gives rise to many interesting…

    Hardback – 2016-08-12
    Routledge Studies in Ethics and Moral Theory

4Series in Moral Theory

Product Search