Philosophy of Mind Products

  • The Routlege Companion to Free Will

    Edited by Kevin Timpe, Meghan Griffith, Neil Levy

    Questions concerning free will are intertwined with issues in almost every area of philosophy, from metaphysics to philosophy of mind to moral philosophy, and are also informed by work in different areas of science (principally physics, neuroscience and social psychology). Free will is also a…

    Hardback – 2016-11-03 
    Routledge
    Routledge Philosophy Companions

  • Humanity and Deity

    By Wilbur Marshall Urban

    This book is an attempt at a restatement of the traditional view of the relation of God to man. In opposition to humanism which proposes a religion of pure humanity, and to the theology of crisis which, so to speak, teaches a religion of pure Deity, it maintains a view of religion and theology…

    Paperback – 2016-10-31 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Religion

  • Metapsychology and the Foundations of Psychoanalysis

    Attachment, neuropsychoanalysis and integration

    By Simon Boag

    Metapsychology and the Foundations of Psychoanalysis redresses faults in Freud’s original conception to develop a coherent theoretical basis for psychodynamic theory. Simon Boag demonstrates that Freud’s much maligned ‘metapsychology’, once revised, can provide a foundation for evaluating and…

    Paperback – 2016-10-25 
    Routledge

  • Towards a Deeper Understanding of Consciousness

    Selected works of Max Velmans

    By Max Velmans

    In the World Library of Psychologists series, international experts themselves present career-long collections of what they judge to be their finest pieces - extracts from books, key articles, salient research findings, and their major practical theoretical contributions. In this volume Max Velmans…

    Hardback – 2016-10-25 
    Routledge
    World Library of Psychologists

  • Consciousness

    By Rocco J Gennaro

    Consciousness is arguably the most important interdisciplinary area in contemporary philosophy of mind, with an explosion of research over the past thirty years from philosophers, psychologists, and scientists. It is also perhaps the most puzzling aspect of the world despite the fact that it is…

    Paperback – 2016-10-17 
    Routledge
    New Problems of Philosophy

  • Depressive Realism

    Interdisciplinary perspectives

    By Colin Feltham

    Depressive Realism argues that people with mild-to-moderate depression have a more accurate perception of reality than non-depressives. Depressive realism is a worldview of human existence that is essentially negative, and which challenges assumptions about the value of life and the institutions…

    Hardback – 2016-10-12 
    Routledge
    Explorations in Mental Health

  • Matter, Mind and Meaning

    By Whately Carington

    This volume is concerned with the philosophical foundations of Psychical Research. Traditional metaphysical theories have led to apparently insoluble problems concerning the nature of mind, of matter and the relation between the two. The author holds that these theories arise from misconception…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • Brain and Mind

    Modern Concepts of the Nature of Mind

    Edited by J. R. Smythies

    Presenting some modern views on the problem of the nature of mind and its relationship to the brain, this book, published in 1965, brings together contributors from various disciplines which are affected by this issue. Coming from different philosophical outlooks as well as subjects, these…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • The Mind and the Soul

    An Introduction to the Philosophy of Mind

    By Jenny Teichman

    The concepts of mind and soul have occupied the thoughts of philosophers throughout the ages and have given rise to numerous conflicting theories. This book provides an incisive and stimulating introduction to central tropics in the philosophy of mind. The author writes about the differences and…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • Cybernetics and the Philosophy of Mind

    By Kenneth Sayre

    This book, published in 1976, presents an entirely original approach to the subject of the mind-body problem, examining it in terms of the conceptual links between the physical sciences and the sciences of human behaviour. It is based on the cybernetic concepts of information and feedback and on…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • The Mental as Physical

    By Edgar Wilson

    The central theme of this impressively argued study is that the mental and physical are identical. Drawing heavily on recent scientific research into the mind-brain relationship, Dr Wilson argues that human mentality, rationality and purposefulness are phenomena which come within the compass of…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

    By J. N. Findlay

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

3Series in Philosophy of Mind

Product Search