Philosophy of Mind Products

  • Beyond the Analytic-Continental Divide

    Pluralist Philosophy in the Twenty-First Century, 1st Edition

    Edited by Jeffrey A. Bell, Andrew Cutrofello, Paul M. Livingston

    This forward-thinking collection presents new work that looks beyond the division between the analytic and continental philosophical traditions—one that has long caused dissension, mutual distrust, and institutional barriers to the development of common concerns and problems. Rather than rehearsing…

    Paperback – 2017-06-16
    Routledge
    Routledge Studies in Contemporary Philosophy

  • Kant’s Inferentialism

    The Case Against Hume, 1st Edition

    By David Landy

    Kant’s Inferentialism draws on a wide range of sources to present a reading of Kant’s theory of mental representation as a direct response to the challenges issued by Hume in A Treatise of Human Nature. Kant rejects the conclusions that Hume draws on the grounds that these are predicated on Hume’s…

    Paperback – 2017-04-27
    Routledge
    Routledge Studies in Eighteenth-Century Philosophy

  • New Essays on Thomas Reid

    1st Edition

    Edited by Patrick Rysiew

    Thomas Reid (1710-96) was a contemporary of both David Hume and Immanuel Kant, and a central figure in the Scottish School of Common Sense. Until recently, his work has been largely neglected, and often misunderstood. Like Kant, Reid cited Hume’s Treatise as the main spur to his own philosophical…

    Paperback – 2017-04-16
    Routledge

  • Utilitarianism

    A Contemporary Statement, 1st Edition

    By Robin Barrow

    In this book, first published in 1991, the author Dr Robin Barrow adopts the view that utilitarianism is the most coherent and persuasive ethical theory we have and argues in favour of a specific form of rule-utilitarianism. This book will be of interest to students of philosophy.…

    Paperback – 2016-12-07
    Routledge
    Routledge Revivals

  • Language, Intelligence, and Thought

    1st Edition

    By Robin Barrow

    In this text, first published in 1993, Barrow decisively rejects the traditional assumption that intelligence has no educational significance and contends instead that intelligence is developed by the enlargement of understanding. Arguing that much educational research is driven by a concept of…

    Paperback – 2016-12-07
    Routledge
    Routledge Revivals

  • Humanity and Deity

    1st Edition

    By Wilbur Marshall Urban

    This book is an attempt at a restatement of the traditional view of the relation of God to man. In opposition to humanism which proposes a religion of pure humanity, and to the theology of crisis which, so to speak, teaches a religion of pure Deity, it maintains a view of religion and theology…

    Paperback – 2016-11-18
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Religion

  • Matter, Mind and Meaning

    1st Edition

    By Whately Carington

    This volume is concerned with the philosophical foundations of Psychical Research. Traditional metaphysical theories have led to apparently insoluble problems concerning the nature of mind, of matter and the relation between the two. The author holds that these theories arise from misconception…

    Paperback – 2016-09-26
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • Brain and Mind

    Modern Concepts of the Nature of Mind, 1st Edition

    Edited by J. R. Smythies

    Presenting some modern views on the problem of the nature of mind and its relationship to the brain, this book, published in 1965, brings together contributors from various disciplines which are affected by this issue. Coming from different philosophical outlooks as well as subjects, these…

    Paperback – 2016-09-26
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • The Mind and the Soul

    An Introduction to the Philosophy of Mind, 1st Edition

    By Jenny Teichman

    The concepts of mind and soul have occupied the thoughts of philosophers throughout the ages and have given rise to numerous conflicting theories. This book provides an incisive and stimulating introduction to central tropics in the philosophy of mind. The author writes about the differences and…

    Paperback – 2016-09-26
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • Cybernetics and the Philosophy of Mind

    1st Edition

    By Kenneth Sayre

    This book, published in 1976, presents an entirely original approach to the subject of the mind-body problem, examining it in terms of the conceptual links between the physical sciences and the sciences of human behaviour. It is based on the cybernetic concepts of information and feedback and on…

    Paperback – 2016-09-26
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • The Mental as Physical

    1st Edition

    By Edgar Wilson

    The central theme of this impressively argued study is that the mental and physical are identical. Drawing heavily on recent scientific research into the mind-brain relationship, Dr Wilson argues that human mentality, rationality and purposefulness are phenomena which come within the compass of…

    Paperback – 2016-09-26
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind, 1st Edition

    By J. N. Findlay

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids…

    Paperback – 2016-09-26
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

6Series in Philosophy of Mind

Product Search