Philosophy of Mind Products

  • Cybernetics and the Philosophy of Mind

    1st Edition

    By Kenneth Sayre

    This book, published in 1976, presents an entirely original approach to the subject of the mind-body problem, examining it in terms of the conceptual links between the physical sciences and the sciences of human behaviour. It is based on the cybernetic concepts of information and feedback and on…

    Paperback – 2016-09-26
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • The Mental as Physical

    1st Edition

    By Edgar Wilson

    The central theme of this impressively argued study is that the mental and physical are identical. Drawing heavily on recent scientific research into the mind-brain relationship, Dr Wilson argues that human mentality, rationality and purposefulness are phenomena which come within the compass of…

    Paperback – 2016-09-26
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind, 1st Edition

    By J. N. Findlay

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids…

    Paperback – 2016-09-26
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • Physicalism

    1st Edition

    By K. V. Wilkes

    The primary aim of this study is to dissolve the mind-body problem. It shows how the ‘problem’ separates into two distinct sets of issues, concerning ontology on the one hand, and explanation on the other, and argues that explanation – whether or not human behaviour can be explained in physical…

    Paperback – 2016-09-26
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • The Embodied Mind

    1st Edition

    By G. N. A. Vesey

    Originally published in 1965. For hundreds of years the thinking of philosophers, psychologists, and theologians on the problem of the mind’s relation to the body was dominated by the Cartesian notion that mind and matter are distinct substances. That Descartes also held that there is a union of…

    Paperback – 2016-09-26
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • Believing Against the Evidence

    Agency and the Ethics of Belief, 1st Edition

    By Miriam Schleifer McCormick

    The question of whether it is ever permissible to believe on insufficient evidence has once again become a live question. Greater attention is now being paid to practical dimensions of belief, namely issues related to epistemic virtue, doxastic responsibility, and voluntarism. In this book,…

    Paperback – 2016-07-27
    Routledge
    Routledge Studies in Contemporary Philosophy

  • The Ontology of Psychology

    Questioning Foundations in the Philosophy of Mind, 1st Edition

    By Linda A.W. Brakel

    In this volume, Brakel raises questions about conventions in the study of mind in three disciplines—psychoanalysis, philosophy of mind, and experimental philosophy. She illuminates new understandings of the mind through interdisciplinary challenges to views long-accepted. Here she proposes a view…

    Paperback – 2016-07-27
    Routledge
    Routledge Studies in Contemporary Philosophy

  • Contemporary Dualism

    A Defense, 1st Edition

    Edited by Andrea Lavazza, Howard Robinson

    Ontological materialism, in its various forms, has become the orthodox view in contemporary philosophy of mind. This book provides a variety of defenses of mind-body dualism, and shows (explicitly or implicitly) that a thoroughgoing ontological materialism cannot be sustained. The contributions are…

    Paperback – 2016-07-27
    Routledge
    Routledge Studies in Contemporary Philosophy

  • A Philosophy of Material Culture

    Action, Function, and Mind, 1st Edition

    By Beth Preston

    This book focuses on material culture as a subject of philosophical inquiry and promotes the philosophical study of material culture by articulating some of the central and difficult issues raised by this topic and providing innovative solutions to them, most notably an account of improvised action…

    Paperback – 2016-07-27
    Routledge
    Routledge Studies in Contemporary Philosophy

  • Phenomenology and the Transcendental

    1st Edition

    Edited by Sara Heinämaa, Mirja Hartimo, Timo Miettinen

    The aim of this volume is to offer an updated account of the transcendental character of phenomenology. The main question concerns the sense and relevance of transcendental philosophy today: What can such philosophy contribute to contemporary inquiries and debates after the many reasoned attacks…

    Paperback – 2016-07-27
    Routledge
    Routledge Research in Phenomenology

  • Essays on Freedom of Action (Routledge Revivals)

    1st Edition

    By Ted Honderich

    Essays on Freedom of Action, first published in 1973, brings together original papers by contemporary British and American philosophers on questions which have long concerned philosophers and others: the question of whether persons are wholly a part of the natural world and their actions the…

    Paperback – 2016-06-06
    Routledge
    Routledge Revivals

  • Mind and Deity

    Being the Second Series of a Course of Gifford Lectures on the General Subject of Metaphysics and Theism given in the University of Glasgow in 1940, 1st Edition

    By John Laird

    Complementary to Theism and Cosmology, this book begins with a discussion of philosophical and theological idea-ism, and our common beliefs concerning nature, man, and God. It is principally concerned with idealism - the place of ideals in reality rather than with the place of ideas. It discusses…

    Paperback – 2016-05-20
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Religion

6Series in Philosophy of Mind

Product Search