Philosophy of Psychology Products

  • Psychology and Neoliberalism

    By Michael Arfken

    During the Enlightenment a new idea of the person was conceived which in turn came to have far-reaching effects on the development of liberal democratic theory and political economy. By looking at the psychological theories that were developed to support our modern political and economic…

    Paperback – 2016-11-01 
    Routledge
    Concepts for Critical Psychology

  • Towards a Deeper Understanding of Consciousness

    Selected works of Max Velmans

    By Max Velmans

    In the World Library of Psychologists series, international experts themselves present career-long collections of what they judge to be their finest pieces - extracts from books, key articles, salient research findings, and their major practical theoretical contributions. In this volume Max Velmans…

    Hardback – 2016-10-25 
    Routledge
    World Library of Psychologists

  • Consciousness

    By Rocco J Gennaro

    Consciousness is arguably the most important interdisciplinary area in contemporary philosophy of mind, with an explosion of research over the past thirty years from philosophers, psychologists, and scientists. It is also perhaps the most puzzling aspect of the world despite the fact that it is…

    Paperback – 2016-10-17 
    Routledge
    New Problems of Philosophy

  • Matter, Mind and Meaning

    By Whately Carington

    This volume is concerned with the philosophical foundations of Psychical Research. Traditional metaphysical theories have led to apparently insoluble problems concerning the nature of mind, of matter and the relation between the two. The author holds that these theories arise from misconception…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • Brain and Mind

    Modern Concepts of the Nature of Mind

    Edited by J. R. Smythies

    Presenting some modern views on the problem of the nature of mind and its relationship to the brain, this book, published in 1965, brings together contributors from various disciplines which are affected by this issue. Coming from different philosophical outlooks as well as subjects, these…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • The Mind and the Soul

    An Introduction to the Philosophy of Mind

    By Jenny Teichman

    The concepts of mind and soul have occupied the thoughts of philosophers throughout the ages and have given rise to numerous conflicting theories. This book provides an incisive and stimulating introduction to central tropics in the philosophy of mind. The author writes about the differences and…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • Cybernetics and the Philosophy of Mind

    By Kenneth Sayre

    This book, published in 1976, presents an entirely original approach to the subject of the mind-body problem, examining it in terms of the conceptual links between the physical sciences and the sciences of human behaviour. It is based on the cybernetic concepts of information and feedback and on…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • The Mental as Physical

    By Edgar Wilson

    The central theme of this impressively argued study is that the mental and physical are identical. Drawing heavily on recent scientific research into the mind-brain relationship, Dr Wilson argues that human mentality, rationality and purposefulness are phenomena which come within the compass of…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

    By J. N. Findlay

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • Physicalism

    By K. V. Wilkes

    The primary aim of this study is to dissolve the mind-body problem. It shows how the ‘problem’ separates into two distinct sets of issues, concerning ontology on the one hand, and explanation on the other, and argues that explanation – whether or not human behaviour can be explained in physical…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • The Embodied Mind

    By G. N. A. Vesey

    Originally published in 1965. For hundreds of years the thinking of philosophers, psychologists, and theologians on the problem of the mind’s relation to the body was dominated by the Cartesian notion that mind and matter are distinct substances. That Descartes also held that there is a union of…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • Letters to a Young Psychoanalyst

    Lessons on Psyche, Human Existence, and Psychoanalysis

    By Heitor O'Dwyer de Macedo

    Written in the form of letters from an experienced analyst to a young colleague, Letters to a Young Psychoanalyst expands the psychoanalytic frame to include South American, French, and British theory, and examine a wide variety of theoretical and clinical topics. Letters to a Young Psychoanalyst…

    Paperback – 2016-09-29 
    Routledge

3Series in Philosophy of Psychology

Product Search