Philosophy of Religion Products

  • Secular Cosmopolitanism, Hospitality, and Religious Pluralism

    By Andrew Fiala

    This book explores the idea of religious pluralism while defending the norms of secular cosmopolitanism, which include liberty, tolerance, civility, and hospitality. The secular cosmopolitan ideal requires us to be more tolerant and more hospitable toward religious believers and non-believers from…

    Hardback – 2016-11-04 
    Routledge
    Routledge Studies in Religion

  • The Routlege Companion to Free Will

    Edited by Kevin Timpe, Meghan Griffith, Neil Levy

    Questions concerning free will are intertwined with issues in almost every area of philosophy, from metaphysics to philosophy of mind to moral philosophy, and are also informed by work in different areas of science (principally physics, neuroscience and social psychology). Free will is also a…

    Hardback – 2016-11-03 
    Routledge
    Routledge Philosophy Companions

  • A Political Economy of Attention, Mindfulness and Sustainable Consumption

    The Mindful Commons

    By Peter Doran

    Advertising, the mass media, technological advances in social media and celebrity culture have come to mediate our popular self-understanding and how we relate to notions of self in a profound way. There is an increasing recognition that ‘attention deficit’ is the price individuals now pay for…

    Hardback – 2016-11-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Studies in Sustainability

  • Humanity and Deity

    By Wilbur Marshall Urban

    This book is an attempt at a restatement of the traditional view of the relation of God to man. In opposition to humanism which proposes a religion of pure humanity, and to the theology of crisis which, so to speak, teaches a religion of pure Deity, it maintains a view of religion and theology…

    Paperback – 2016-10-31 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Religion

  • Christianity and Morals

    By Edward Alexander Westermarck

    A thorough examination of many aspects of morality through the lens of Christianity, this book, originally published in 1939, is philosophical in its approach to assessing religion. It compares moral traditions of many world religions and describes their changes over time as well. Written…

    Paperback – 2016-10-31 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Religion

  • Theism and Cosmology

    Being the First Series of a Course of Gifford Lectures on the General Subject of Metaphysics and Theism given in the University of Glasgow in 1939

    By John Laird

    Theism is one of the major types of metaphysics and cosmology is the general theory of the whole wide world. Must the world have an over-worldly source, or any source? Would "space" crumble unless God perpetually sustained it by his brooding omnipresence? Is all power, properly understood, divine…

    Paperback – 2016-10-31 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Religion

  • Depressive Realism

    Interdisciplinary perspectives

    By Colin Feltham

    Depressive Realism argues that people with mild-to-moderate depression have a more accurate perception of reality than non-depressives. Depressive realism is a worldview of human existence that is essentially negative, and which challenges assumptions about the value of life and the institutions…

    Hardback – 2016-10-12 
    Routledge
    Explorations in Mental Health

  • Thought on Religion (Routledge Revivals)

    By Samuel Shattock

    This book, first published in 1926, is a collection of the original thoughts of Samuel George Shattock on religious matters. Shattock was Professor of Morbid Anatomy in the University of London and passed away in 1924. This book will be of interest to students of religion and philosophy.…

    Paperback – 2016-10-12 
    Routledge
    Routledge Revivals

  • Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

    By J. N. Findlay

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids…

    Paperback – 2016-10-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

  • Religion and Atheism

    Beyond the Divide

    Edited by Anthony Carroll, Richard Norman

    Arguments between those who hold religious beliefs and those who do not have been at fever pitch. They have also reached an impasse, with equally entrenched views held by believer and atheist - and even agnostic - alike. This collection is one of the first books to move beyond this deadlock.…

    Paperback – 2016-09-30 
    Routledge

  • David Hume: Dialogues Concerning Natural Religion In Focus

    Edited by Stanley Tweyman

    Based on the original handwritten manuscript, this book provides a new, accurate edition of Hume’s important work, faithful to his original text, marginal notes, and changes. Stanley Tweyman’s comprehensive introduction gives an interpretation of the Dialogues as a whole, as well as close analysis…

    Paperback – 2016-09-30 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Religion

  • Theology and Meaning

    A Critique of Metatheological Scepticism

    By Raeburne Seeley Heimbeck

    What sense, if any, does it make to speak of God? This question, of such vital importance to religious commitment, occupies an important place in discussion among Anglo-American philosophers of religion whose orientation is logical analysis. ‘Metatheological scepticism’ is the view that denies the…

    Paperback – 2016-09-30 
    Routledge
    Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Religion

4Series in Philosophy of Religion

Product Search