International Relations Theory Products

  • The Power of International Relations in the Iranian Nuclear Crisis

    By Brossard

    Since the late 1990s, the sociology of IR has become a vibrant sub-field. Yet, despite its increasing popularity and sophistication, sociologists of IR have spent more attention understanding how knowledge is made in IR rather than what this knowledge does to international politics.…

    Hardback – 2019-01-06 
    Routledge

  • Positive Security

    By Gunhild Hoogensen Gjørv, Ali Bilgic

    This book explores current thinking about positive security and seeks to suggest a reformulated positive security concept, and to evaluate the efficacy of such a concept in terms of foreign and security policy. Proceeding from a critical evaluation of McSweeney’s positive security approach, the…

    Hardback – 2019-01-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Advances in International Relations and Global Politics

  • An Introduction to Critical International Relations Theory

    By Shannon Brincat

    This book offers a conceptual history and reconstruction of the concept of emancipation as it has developed within the tradition of Critical Theory and Critical International Relations Theory. It meticulously details the emancipatory content of a number of related theorists in the critical…

    Hardback – 2019-01-01 
    Routledge
    Routledge Research in International Relations Theory

  • Migrant Resistance in Contemporary Europe

    By Maurice Stierl

    Over the past few years, increased ‘unauthorised’ migrations into the territories of EUrope have resulted in the most severe crisis of the EUropean project up-to-date. Stierl explores migration and border struggles in contemporary EUrope and the ways in which they animate, problematise, and…

    Hardback – 2018-12-31 
    Routledge
    Interventions

  • The Anarchist Imagination

    Anarchism Encounters the Humanities and Social Sciences

    Edited by Carl Levy, Saul Newman

    This a a broad ranging introduction to 21st century anarchism which includes a wide array of theoretical approaches as well as a variety of empirical and geographical perspectives. The book demonstrates how this vibrant and often controversial ideology has influenced the humanities and social…

    Paperback – 2018-12-30 
    Routledge
    Interventions

  • Heroism and Global Politics

    Edited by Veronica Kitchen, Jennifer G Mathers

    The rhetoric of heroism pervades politics. Political leaders invoke their own heroic credentials, soldiers are celebrated at sporting events, ordinary citizens become state symbols (or symbols of opposition), and high profile celebrities embody a glamorized, humanitarian heroism. Using analytical…

    Hardback – 2018-12-13 
    Routledge

  • Irregular Citizenship

    Anti/Deportation and Struggles for Political Subjectivity

    By Peter Nyers

    Deportation has again taken a prominent place within the immigration policies of nation-states. But its significance lies well beyond being an increasingly favored policy option for the managers of migration. Equally important, although less understood, are the social responses to deportation.…

    Paperback – 2018-12-13 
    Routledge
    Interventions

  • The Two Worlds of Nineteenth Century International Relations

    The Bifurcated Century

    Edited by Daniel M Green

    This edited volume presents a new, grand and global narrative for international relations (IR) history in the pivotal nineteenth century. Typically considered by IR scholars to be a long century of relative peace after 1815, the contributors offer a re-conceptualization of IR in this century,…

    Hardback – 2018-12-12 
    Routledge

  • Global Politics

    A New Introduction, 3rd Edition

    Edited by Jenny Edkins, Jenny Edkins, Maja Zehfuss, Maja Zehfuss

    The 3rd edition of Global Politics: A New Introduction continues to provide a completely original way of teaching and learning about world politics. The book engages directly with the issues in global politics that students are most interested in, helping them to understand the key questions and…

    Paperback – 2018-12-01 
    Routledge

  • Friendship in Politics

    Theorizing Amity in and between States

    Edited by Preston King, Graham M. Smith

    Previously published as a special issue of the Critical Review of Social and Political Philosophy, this volume throws light on the place of friendship in politics by connecting theoretical questions to empirical answers. Today, friendship and politics are most commonly viewed as distinct and…

    Paperback – 2018-11-30 
    Routledge

  • The Poetics of International Politics

    Fact and Fiction in Narrative Representations of World Affairs

    By Milan Babík

    This book exposes the role of poetic techniques and narrative composition in constituting the reality of world affairs. It has two interrelated objectives; to excavate the non-empirical elements inherent in mainstream academic international relations literature and to highlight the real political…

    Hardback – 2018-11-30 
    Routledge

  • Moral Obligations and Sovereignty in International Relations

    A Genealogy of Humanitarianism

    By Andrea Paras

    How has contemporary humanitarianism become the dominant framework for how states construct their moral obligations to non-citizens? To answer this question, this book examines the history of humanitarianism in international relations by tracing the relationship between transnational moral…

    Hardback – 2018-11-14 
    Routledge
    Global Institutions

8Series in International Relations Theory

Product Search