1st Edition

A Chronology of Medieval British History

ISBN 9780367333386
Published June 9, 2020 by Routledge
492 Pages

USD $160.00

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

A Chronology of Medieval British History 1066–1307 covers events in British history, starting with the arrival of the new Norman ruling dynasty which ‘connected’ British politics, culture, religion and society more closely to mainland Europe, and ending with Edward I’s death and Robert Bruce’s revolt in 1307.

The book is designed as a year-by-year guide to political, military, religious and cultural developments, centred on the states within the British Isles – England, Scotland, the Welsh states until annexation in 1282, and Ireland until conquest in the 1170s. Throughout the book, a detailed but succinct narrative of events is provided, clearly explaining what happened and when. The relevant sources and the latest academic studies for each period are listed, and any difficulties relating to the dating, accuracy and interpretation of records are identified.

Comprehensive and accessible, A Chronology of Medieval British History 1066–1307 will be of great use to students of medieval British and European history.

Table of Contents


1 Chronology: 1066 to 1154

2 Chronology: 1155 to 1217

3 Chronology: 1218 to 1307


View More



Timothy Venning is an independent scholar and researcher and formerly worked on the Oxford New Dictionary of National Biography. His previous books include A Chronology of the Crusades (2015) and A Chronology of Early Medieval Western Europe (2017).