A Chronology of the Crusades  book cover
1st Edition

A Chronology of the Crusades

ISBN 9780367870775
Published December 12, 2019 by Routledge
568 Pages

FREE Standard Shipping
USD $49.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

A Chronology of the Crusades provides a day-by-day development of the Crusading movement, the Crusades and the states created by them through the medieval period. Beginning in the run-up to the First Crusade in 1095, to the fall of Constantinople in 1453, and ending with the Turkish attack on Belgrade in 1456, this reference is a comprehensive guide to the events of each Crusade, concentrating on the Near East, but also those Christian expeditions sanctioned by the Papacy as ‘Crusades’ in the medieval era. As well as clashes between Christians and Muslims in the Latin States, Timothy Venning also chronicles the Albigensian Crusade, clashes in Anatolia and the Balkans and the Reconquista in the Iberian Peninsula. Both detailed and accessible, this chronology draws together material from contemporary Latin/Frankish, Byzantine and Arab/Muslim sources with assessment and explanation to produce a readable narrative which gives students an in-depth overview of one of the most enduringly fascinating periods in medieval history.

Including an introduction by Peter Frankopan which summarises and contextualises the period, this book is an essential resource for students and academics alike.

Table of Contents

Introduction by Dr Peter Frankopan 1 1055-1094: the Prelude 2. 1095-1099: the First Crusade 3. 1100-1144: The Crusader States 4. 1145-1149: The Second Crusade 5. 1150-1187: The Crusader States 6.1188-1192: The Third Crusade 7. 1193-1204: The Crusader Kingdoms and the Fourth Crusade 8. 1205-1244 9. 1245-1261: The Sixth Crusade and After 10.1262-1291: The Seventh Crusade and the End of Outremer 11. 1292-1456: The Crusades after the loss of the Holy Land. Index


View More



Timothy Venning is an independent scholar educated at the University of London, with thirty years‘ experience of historical research. His books include Chronology of the Roman Empire (2010) and Anglo-Saxon Kings and Queens (2011).


"...the author provides a useful chronology that introduces the topic. Summing Up: Recommended." - J.A. Reuscher, Pennsylvania State University, CHOICE Review