Anger and After (Routledge Revivals): A Guide to the New British Drama, 1st Edition (Paperback) book cover

Anger and After (Routledge Revivals)

A Guide to the New British Drama, 1st Edition

By John Russell Taylor


382 pages

Purchasing Options:$ = USD
Paperback: 9780415727945
pub: 2015-02-09
SAVE ~$10.99
Hardback: 9780415727938
pub: 2013-09-25
SAVE ~$37.00
Currently out of stock
eBook (VitalSource) : 9781315851891
pub: 2013-12-19
from $27.48

FREE Standard Shipping!


When it was first published in 1962, Anger and After was the first comprehensive study of the dramatic movement which began in 1956 with the staging of John Osborne’s Look Back in Anger and has since brought forward such dramatists as Brendan Behan, Harold Pinter, N. F. Simpson, John Arden and Arnold Wesker. Thoroughly revised in 1969, this book remains important reading for theatre students in need of a comprehensive and authoritative guide to post-Osborne drama in Britain.

Table of Contents

Introduction; Prologue: The Early Fifties; Dennis Cannan; John Whiting; Gukes Cooper; Presented at Court: Enter the English Stage Company; John Osborne; N. F. Simpson; Ann Jellicoe; John Arden; Other Royal Court Dramatists; Way Down East: Joan Littlewood and Theatre Workshop; Brenadan Behan; Shelagh Delaney; The Road from Wigan Pier: Production Out of Town; Arnold Wesker; Bernard Kops; David Campton; David Turner; More Playwrights in the Provinces; In the Air: Recruits from Radio and television; Alun Owen; Clive Exton; John Mortimer; Peter Shaffer; By Way of Experiment The Arts through Thick and Thin; Henry Livings; Johnny Speight; David Rudkin; First Impressions; A Room and Some Views: Harold Pinter; Epilogue: Art and Commerce: With a Few Tentative Conclusion; Index

About the Series

Routledge Revivals

Are there elusive titles that you need and have been trying to source for years but thought that you would never be able to find?

Well this may be the end of your quest – here is a fantastic opportunity for you to discover past brilliance and purchase previously out of print and unavailable titles by some of the world’s most eminent academic scholars.

Drawing from over 100 years of innovative, cutting-edge publishing, Routledge Revivals is an exciting programme whereby key titles from the distinguished and extensive backlist of the many acclaimed imprints associated with Routledge will be re-issued.

The programme draws upon the illustrious backlists of Kegan Paul, Trench & Trubner, Routledge & Kegan Paul, Methuen, Allen & Unwin and Routledge itself.

Routledge Revivals spans the whole of the Humanities and Social Sciences, and includes works by some of the world’s greatest thinkers including Emile Durkheim, Max Weber, Simone Weil, Martin Buber, Karl Jaspers and Max Beloff.

If you are interested in Revivals in the Behavioral Sciences, please visit

Learn more…

Subject Categories

BISAC Subject Codes/Headings:
DRAMA / English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh
PERFORMING ARTS / Theater / History & Criticism
PERFORMING ARTS / Theater / Playwriting