Anthony Trollope: 1st Edition (Paperback) book cover

Anthony Trollope

1st Edition

By Arthur Pollard


218 pages

Purchasing Options:$ = USD
Paperback: 9781138668140
pub: 2017-12-12
SAVE ~$9.39
Hardback: 9781138668065
pub: 2016-07-19
SAVE ~$31.00
eBook (VitalSource) : 9781315618784
pub: 2016-07-28
from $23.48

FREE Standard Shipping!


Anthony Trollope is perhaps best known for the group of Barsetshire novels, a rich and enduring picture of society in a small cathedral town. He also wrote a number of Irish novels and a series about political society known as the ‘Palliser novels’.

First published in 1978, this introduction to Trollope’s life and work surveys all of his forty-seven novels, as well as his various miscellaneous works, and calls for a reassessment of his impressive achievement.

This book will be of interest to those studying Victorian literature.

Table of Contents

Preface; Acknowledgements; 1. Life and Character 2. The Irish Novels and Stories 3. The Way They Lived Then 4. Barchester Chronicles 5. The Semi-Political Novels 6. Other Longer Novels 7. Shorter Novels, 1863-74 8. The Final Phase 9. Other Works 10. Conclusion: An Estimate; A Note on La Vendée; Bibliography; Index

About the Series

Routledge Library Editions: The Nineteenth-Century Novel

This set of 42 volumes, originally published between 1965 and 2009, are authored by renowned international scholars in the field of nineteenth century literature. They explore a variety of authors such as Dickens, Hardy, Brontë, Austen, Gaskell, Zola, Meredith, Eliot, Gissing, Hawthorne, James and Wharton. The titles also examine a wide range of themes including gender, class, religion, politics, philosophy and music.

Learn more…

Subject Categories

BISAC Subject Codes/Headings:
LITERARY CRITICISM / European / English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh
LITERARY CRITICISM / Modern / 19th Century
LITERARY CRITICISM / Subjects & Themes / Politics