1st Edition

Anxiety and Personality
The Concept of a Directing Object and its Applications





ISBN 9781782200406
Published March 19, 2015 by Routledge
96 Pages

USD $23.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Preview

Book Description

The concept of a "directing object" is based on extensive clinical observations linked to a combination of ego psychology and object relations theory in the tradition of Otto Kernberg and Anne Marie and Joseph Sandler. People with a phobic disposition are those who were not, during childhood, permitted to learn by trial and error and thus gain confidence in their actions. They did not learn to direct their own actions and did not develop confidence in their capability to act successfully. In their inner world, they did not establish an internal directing object. Thus, they now need an external directing object, who watches over them. This has considerable influence on interpersonal relationships and on work. Phobic persons can work without difficulty when there is a external directing object, but they will not be able to work without such a companion. In therapy, they use their therapist as a directing object, which can create the illusion that the phobic patient is already much better.

Table of Contents

ABOUT THE AUTHOR viiPREFACE INTRODUCTION CHAPTER ONE Psychoanalysis of phobia CHAPTER TWO Various types of phobia CHAPTER THREE Further applications APPENDIX REFERENCES INDEX

...
View More

Author(s)

Biography

Karl Koenig