1st Edition

Archaeology in England and Wales 1914 - 1931

By T.D. Kendrick, C.F.C. Hawkes Copyright 1932
    394 Pages
    by Routledge

    452 Pages
    by Routledge

    This survey of work carried out over a number of years synthesises the progress of archaeology, showing at a glance the changes within less than quarter of a century on the interpretation of and reflection on knowledge in the area. Entertainingly, written, this is a lasting introductory account of important finds in English and Welsh archaeology, by two of the key researchers of the time. Heavily illustrated, this book showcases many artefacts as well as maps and plans, offering a wealth of information.

    1. Pre-Palaeolithic Man  2. Lower and Middle Palaeolithic Periods  3. Upper Palaeolithic Period  4. Mesolithic Period  5. Neolithic Period  6. The Flint-Mines  7. The ‘Henge’ Monuments, Circles and Rock Carvings  8. Early and Middle Bronze Age  9. Late Bronze Age  10. Early Iron Age  11. Roman Britain  12. Anglo-Saxon Period


    T.D. Kendrick, C.F.C. Hawkes