Beckett on File  book cover
1st Edition

Beckett on File

Edited By

Virginia Cooke

ISBN 9780367746674
Published May 19, 2021 by Routledge
100 Pages

SAVE $33.00
was $110.00
USD $77.00

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

This book, first published in 1985, assembles essential facts on Samuel Beckett and makes vital but elusive information available. It contains a comprehensive checklist of all the writer’s plays, with a detailed performance history, excerpted reviews, and most importantly, a selection of Beckett’s own comments on their work drawn from essays, interviews, letters and diaries. Other features include a chronology of life and work, a checklist of non-dramatic writings and an annotated bibliography.

Table of Contents

1. A Brief Chronology  2. The Plays  2.1. Waiting for Godot  2.2. All That Fall  2.3. Endgame  2.4. Act Without Words I  2.5. Krapp’s Last Tape  2.6. Rough for Theatre I and II  2.7. Embers  2.8. Act Without Words II  2.9. Rough for Radio I and II  2.10. Happy Days  2.11. Words and Music  2.12. Play  2.13. Cascando  2.14. Film  2.15. Come and Go  2.16. Eh Joe  2.17. Not I  2.18. That Time  2.19. Footfalls  2.20. Ghost Trio  2.21. ‘…but the clouds…’  2.22. A Piece of Monologue  2.23. Rockaby  2.24. Ohio Impromptu  2.25. Quad  2.26. Catastrophe  2.27. Nacht and Träume  2.28. What Where  3. Non-Dramatic Writing  3.1. Prose in Performance  3.2. Fiction  3.3. Other Works  4. The Writer on His Work  5.1. A Select Bibliography  5.2. Full-Length Studies  5.3. Articles and Chapters in Books

View More



Virginia Cooke