Beckett the Playwright  book cover
1st Edition

Beckett the Playwright

ISBN 9780367747114
Published May 19, 2021 by Routledge
178 Pages

SAVE ~ $22.00
was $110.00
USD $88.00

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

This book, first published in 1985, stresses Beckett’s success as an innovator in the theatre through a close reading and analysis of his plays. The differing backgrounds of the two authors enables them to approach Beckett’s drama in a particularly fruitful way: ‘Their analysis is clever yet level-headed, readable but does not shirk complexities.’ (Times Educational Supplement). ‘Brilliant collection of essays on Beckett and his works.’ (Irish Times)

Table of Contents

1. Introduction  2. The One That Got Away: Eleuthéria  3. Bailing Out the Silence: Waiting for Godot  4. Son of Oedipus: Endgame  5. Love and Doom in an Irish Suburb: All That Fall  6. Death and the Maiden: Krapp’s Last Tape  7. Hectoring Voices in the Head: Embers, Eh Joe, Words and Music, Cascando, Ghost Trio, … but the clouds…, Rough for Radio  8. Blaze of Hellish Light: Happy Days  9. The Net Closes: Play  10. Into Action: Acts Without Words, Film, Come and Go, Breath  11. Last Ditch: Not I, That Time, Footfalls  12. Performance and Response  13. Still Struggling: Human Wishes, A Piece of Monologue, Rockaby, Ohio Impromptu, Quad, Catastrophe, Nacht und Träume, What Where

View More



John Fletcher and John Spurling