7th Edition

Britain since 1945 A Political History

By David Childs Copyright 2012
    528 Pages
    by Routledge

    528 Pages
    by Routledge

    Britain since 1945 is the established textbook on contemporary British political history since the end of the Second World War. David Childs' authoritative chronological survey discusses domestic policy and politics in particular, but also covers external and international relations. This new and improved seventh edition of this important book brings the picture to the present by including the following additions: 

    • Tony Blair's resignation and Gordon Brown's accession to power
    • immigration
    • the financial crisis from 2007: the first bank run in Britain since 1866
    • the 'Special-relationship' with the US and Obama
    • the 2010 General elcetion and the first coalition government since 1945
    • 'Broken Britain'  and Crime
    • the era of ‘owned by China'
    • and Britain’s place in a turbulent world.

    Britain since 1945 is essential reading for any student of contemporary British history and politics.

    1. Summer Victories 2. Achievement and Austerity under Attlee, 1945-51 3. Colonial Retreat and Cold War 4. Churchill and Eden, 1951-1957 5. Macmillan and the Affluent Society, 1957-64 6. Wilson's Attempts at Reform, 1964-70 7. The Unexpected Prime Minister: Edward Heath, 1970-74 8. Labour's Minority Governments, 1974-79 9. The Thatcher 'Revolution', 1979-83 10. Thatcher in Decline, 1983-1990 11. In Major's 'Classless Society', 1990-96 12. Blair's First Term, 1997-2001  13. Blair’s Governments, 2001-2005 14. Blair's Third Term  15. From Brown To Cameron 16. Britain’s Coalition Experiment, 2010


    David Childs