British Future Fiction, 1700-1914, Volume 6  book cover
1st Edition

British Future Fiction, 1700-1914, Volume 6

ISBN 9781138111356
Published May 31, 2017 by Routledge
288 Pages

FREE Standard Shipping
USD $19.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

This set of eight volumes presents the reader with selected primary texts in the genre now generally known as future fiction. The chosen texts are designed to explore the dominant characteristics of the genre and examine how it changed over the 18th and 19th centuries.

Table of Contents

George Tomkyns Chesney, The Battle of Dorking (1871), Abraham Hayward, The Second Armada (1871), William Francis Butler, The Invasion of England (1882), ‘Posteritas’, The Siege of London (1884), James Eastwick, The New Centurion (1895), Sydney Eardley-Wilmot, The Next Naval War (1894), Editorial Notes, Authors and Editions

View More



I.F. Clarke