1st Edition

Carl Nielsen Studies
Volume 1

Edited By

Niels Krabbe

ISBN 9780754641469
Published January 28, 2004 by Routledge
188 Pages

USD $62.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

This is the first volume of Carl Nielsen Studies which is an annual publication issuing from the Royal Library of Denmark, also home to the Carl Nielsen edition. Carl Nielsen's status as one of the twentieth century's foremost composers is now well-established. These volumes provide a forum for the spectrum of historical, analytical and aesthetic approaches to the study of Nielsen's music from an international line-up of contributors. In addition, each volume features reviews and reports on current Nielsen projects and an updated Nielsen bibliography, making Carl Nielsen Studies the most important source for up-to-the minute research on the composer and his work. Carl Nielsen Studies is distributed outside Scandinavia by Ashgate; distribution within Scandinavia is handled by The Royal Library, Copenhagen, PB 2149, DK 1016 K, Denmark.

Table of Contents

Contents: Preface; Carl Nielsen and early 20th-century musical/aesthetic theory, David Fanning; Organicism and construction in Nielsen's Symphony No. 5, Michael Fjeldsøe; Analytical and aesthetic issues in Carl Nielsen's Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra, Daniel Grimley; Carl Nielsen and intentions: concerning the editing of Carl Nielsen's works, Peter Hauge; Carl Nielsen and Tivoli, Knud Ketting; Carl Nielsen, Ebbe Hamerik and the First Symphony, Niels Krabbe; Different names for the same thing ...?: Nielsen's forces, Schenker's striving, Tarasti's modalities and Simpson's narratives, Tom Pankhurst; Carl Nielsen unmasked: art and popular musical styles in Maskarade, Anne-Marie Reynolds; Stasis and energy: Danish paradox or European issue?, Colin Roth; Reports; Bibliography; Reviews.

View More