Carl Nielsen Studies : Volume 2 book cover
1st Edition

Carl Nielsen Studies
Volume 2

ISBN 9780754656401
Published November 3, 2005 by Routledge
250 Pages

FREE Standard Shipping
USD $11.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

This is the second volume of Carl Nielsen Studies which is an annual publication issuing from the Royal Library of Denmark, also home to the Carl Nielsen edition. Carl Nielsen's status as one of the twentieth-century's foremost composers is now well-established. These volumes provide a forum for the spectrum of historical, analytical and aesthetic approaches to the study of Nielsen's music from an international line-up of contributors. In addition, each volume features reviews and reports on current Nielsen projects and an updated Nielsen bibliography, making Carl Nielsen Studies the most important source for up-to-the minute research on the composer and his work. Carl Nielsen Studies is distributed outside Scandinavia by Ashgate; distribution within Scandinavia is handled by The Royal Library, Copenhagen, PB 2149, DK 1016 K, Denmark.

Table of Contents

Contents: Carl Nielsen and the Gothenburg Orchestral Society, 1914-31: the contact, programming and repertoire, Peter Hauge; Carl Nielsen and Nancy Dalberg: Nancy Dalberg as Carl Nielsen's pupil, assistant and patron, Lisbeth Ahlgren Jensen; Carl Nielsen and the radio, Knud Ketting; Steps to the Modern: Carl Nielsen's String Quartets, Friedhelm Krummacher; 'We never know where we'll end up': Nielsen's alternative endings to the Flute Concerto, Tom Pankhurst; Carl Nielsen, Kvartet for to violiner, bratsch og cello, Opus 5 Et kig ind i komponistens værksted, Elly Bruunshuss Petersen; Carl Nielsen's Flute Concerto: form and revision of the ending, Kirsten Flensborg Petersen; Reports: The Carl Nielsen Edition; Carl Nielsen's Letters; Bibliography, Kirsten Flensborg Petersen.

View More



Niels Krabbe is Head of the Carl Nielsen Edition at The Royal Library of Denmark, Copenhagen, Denmark.