Chronology of the Cold War : 1917�1992 book cover
1st Edition

Chronology of the Cold War

ISBN 9781138878136
Published June 29, 2015 by Routledge
720 Pages

FREE Standard Shipping
USD $54.95

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

More than just a timeline, the Chronology of the Cold War is in-depth chronological narrative organized into sections. Each section carries a clear date and summary heading. The five major sections are

I. Cold Peace, 1917-1940
II. The Strange Alliance, 1941-1945
III. Containment and Détente, 1946-1975
IV. Confrontation & Conciliation, 1976-1991
V. Epilogue

Based on sections of the Chronological History of U.S. Foreign Relations (Routledge 2003), the book includes significant additional material on Russia, China, arms control, and the Cold War in the Third World. This easy-to-use reference also includes an introductory section reviewing the history leading up to the Cold War from 1917 to 1945, a general bibliography of resources on the Cold War and is illustrated with photographs from presidential libraries and 18 maps.

Table of Contents

List of Maps -- Preface and Acknowledgments -- Introduction -- I. The Cold Peace, 1917-1940 -- II. The ‘‘Strange Alliance,’’ 1940-1945 -- III. Containment and Detente, 1946-1976 -- IV. Confrontation and Conciliation, 1976-1991 -- V. Epilogue -- Bibliography -- Appendix: Soviet Premiers and General Secretaries -- Index.

View More



Lester H. Brune and Richard D. Burns