Classical Modern Philosophers : Descartes to Kant book cover
1st Edition

Classical Modern Philosophers
Descartes to Kant

ISBN 9780415065771
Published February 21, 2002 by Routledge
288 Pages

SAVE ~ $10.19
was $50.95
USD $40.76

Prices & shipping based on shipping country


Book Description

Descartes, Leibniz, Spinoza, Locke, Berkeley, Hume, and Kant: these are the seven philosophers who stand out from the rest in what is known as the `modern' period in philosophy. Their thought defines the mainstream of classical or early modern philosophy, largely responsible for shaping philosophy as we now know it.
In a clear and lively style, Richard Schacht has written a thorough introduction to the work of these seven founding fathers of modern philosophy. The bibliography has been updated for this revised edition to take account of the recent explosion of writings on modern philosophy.


'In short Schacht's is a very good book ... it's largest appeal will be to those teaching or learning philosophy in the classroom.' - Teaching Philosophy