1st Edition

Critical Musicological Reflections Essays in Honour of Derek B. Scott

Edited By Stan Hawkins Copyright 2012
    ISBN 9781138255692
    288 Pages
    Published November 10, 2016 by Routledge

    United States Flag Free Shipping (6-12 Business Days)
    shipping options

    Sale Price USD $64.95
    USD $64.95
    ISBN 9781409425601
    288 Pages
    Published April 20, 2012 by Routledge

    United States Flag Free Shipping (6-12 Business Days)
    shipping options

    • This format is currently out of stock.
    Continue Shopping

    This collection of original essays is in tribute to the work of Derek Scott on the occasion of his sixtieth birthday. As one of the leading lights in Critical Musicology, Scott has helped shape the epistemological direction for music research since the late 1980s. There is no doubt that the path taken by the critical musicologist has been a tricky one, leading to new conceptions, interactions, and heated debates during the past two decades. Changes in musicology during the closing decades of the twentieth century prompted the establishment of new sets of theoretical methods that probed at the social and cultural relevance of music, as much as its self-referentiality. All the scholars contributing to this book have played a role in the general paradigmatic shift that ensued in the wake of Kerman's call for change in the 1980s. Setting out to address a range of approaches to theorizing music and promulgating modes of analysis across a wide range of repertories, the essays in this collection can be read as a coming of age of critical musicology through its active dialogue with other disciplines such as sociology, feminism, ethnomusicology, history, anthropology, philosophy, cultural studies, aesthetics, media studies, film music studies, and gender studies. The volume provides music researchers and graduate students with an up-to-date authoritative reference to all matters dealing with the state of critical musicology today.


    Stan Hawkins is Professor of Musicology at the University of Oslo, Norway and adjunct professor at the University of Agder, Kristiansand, Norway. He is author of Settling the Pop Score (2002), The British Pop Dandy (2009), co-author of Prince: The Making of a Pop Music Phenomenon (2011), editor of Pop Music and Easy Listening (2011), and co-editor of Music, Space and Place (2005) (all published by Ashgate) and Essays on Sound and Vision (2007).

    'The stellar line-up of authors in this tribute to the work of Derek Scott attests to the significance of his research on music, culture and ideology. The essays encompass a diverse range of music from the nineteenth century onwards and reflect his interdisciplinary identity - a combination of music historian, music analyst, sociologist and cultural theorist. Derek Scott's role as one of the founders of critical musicology is also reflected here, via the inclusion of a history of the movement in its wider scholarly context. Stan Hawkins has created a fascinating volume that provides an insight into current thinking influenced by critical musicology, while representing Derek Scott's distinctive musicological interests and celebrating his profound impact as a colleague, teacher and mentor.' Nicola Dibben, University of Sheffield, UK '... an excellent collection of essays covering a wide range of historical, philosophical, and interpretive approaches to musicological subjects... This collection is an admirable testament to the expansion of the discipline of musicology into both historical and theoretical methodological considerations.' Popular Music and Society '... an impressive volume that brings together some of the most significant voices in critical musicology today... By addressing issues and defining methodologies that are currently relevant to the field of musicology, Critical Musicological Reflections provides insight into the current state of critical musicology and identifies promising avenues for future work.' Canadian Association of Music Libraries Review

    We offer free standard shipping on every order across the globe.

    Free Shipping (6-12 Business Days)